Nesting Toolpaths

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
Post Reply
User avatar
rpotthoff
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 3:09 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Arty Personal 58
Location: Montgomery, IL

Nesting Toolpaths

Post by rpotthoff »

Is there away to save the toolpaths to each sheet in a nested project?

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10587
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Nesting Toolpaths

Post by Adrian »

Yes, you need to use the Apply Template to All Sheets gadget - http://gadgets.vectric.com/apply_template.html

It has an option to generate and save the toolpaths for all the sheets at once.

User avatar
rpotthoff
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 3:09 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Arty Personal 58
Location: Montgomery, IL

Re: Nesting Toolpaths

Post by rpotthoff »

That's great, but I have a different toolpaths for each sheet.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10587
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Nesting Toolpaths

Post by Adrian »

Can you explain the what it is you're doing now and how you would like it to work.

The gadget will only apply the toolpaths that are relevant to the vectors on the sheet provided the template has been properly setup.

User avatar
rpotthoff
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 3:09 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Arty Personal 58
Location: Montgomery, IL

Re: Nesting Toolpaths

Post by rpotthoff »

I make a few of these and each time I get wood to make them the sizes change, what I would like is to make the changes to each sheet and it's toolpaths, Right now I have to delete each toolpath and redo them for each sheet every time I need to make a change or I forget something on it.

The Attached file is the job I am working on.
Attachments
Lazy Susan Tower x4.crv3d
(701.5 KiB) Downloaded 179 times

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10587
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Nesting Toolpaths

Post by Adrian »

Are you using layers with associated toolpath templates? It sounds like you're probably not. If you have the job set up that way you can re-nest and press the recalculate all button to automatically calculate the toolpaths.

http://support.vectric.com/tutorials/V8 ... s_GEN.html

Post Reply