box joint creator moving

This section is for general discussion about Gadgets
Post Reply
cusoak
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

box joint creator moving

Post by cusoak »

How can you move the parts of the box around on the material to optimize my material. When I try to move a part I do not get the cut vector to move the part.
Also how can I add an a second bottom.
Jeff

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 11949
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by Adrian »

Which type of joint are you using? If it's the square tabs (finger) joint you can move the vectors and then use the recalculate all button on the toolpath tab to recalculate the toolpaths as per usual operations.

If it's the dovetail joint then you can't move the parts. It's a special toolpath created by the gadget that can't be recalculated.

cusoak
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by cusoak »

When I select say the bottom and try to move it I select it all and try moving it and there is an additional line that does not move
Is that a problem and what is that line
Jeff

cusoak
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by cusoak »

Using Square Tabs

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 11949
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by Adrian »

Each part is made of two vectors. You only really need to move the one that is used to create the toolpath (the outer one) but you can move both together.

cusoak
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by cusoak »

When you do anon tab lid you get 2 tool paths
apocket and profile how come you can only edit one of then
Jeff

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 11949
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by Adrian »

cusoak wrote:
Mon Dec 14, 2020 12:16 am
When you do anon tab lid you get 2 tool paths
apocket and profile how come you can only edit one of then
Jeff
No idea, I've reported it to Vectric as that is very strange behaviour.

ayah
Vectric Staff
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2020 9:46 am
Model of CNC Machine: ---

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by ayah »

Hi,
This issue with corrupted LUA pocket toolpaths has been fixed in the latest patch (10.512). You will need to re-run the Box Creator gadget after updating.

Aya H

cusoak
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by cusoak »

I up graded to the latest 10.512 version and that took care of the moving problem.
But I cannot on the profile cutout file edit it to have a clearance allowance put in. So it will fit together easier
Jeff

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 11949
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by Adrian »

You can't have an allowance on a toolpath that is set to be on the vector.

You would need to adjust the size of the vectors but it would be easier to rerun the gadget and specify different values there.

cusoak
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by cusoak »

Not sure I under stand your last post
Jeff

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 11949
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by Adrian »

You can't adjust the Cut out toolpath to have an allowance on it. That's nothing to do with the gadget, that's the way a profile toolpath works. The allowance field can't be set when the toolpath is set to be On the vector rather than inside/outside.

If the joints are too tight or too loose then you have to run the gadget again and use the Allowance value in the gadget to create new vectors.

cusoak
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by cusoak »

So I think I got it I should have pit in a value when I set of the box size
What would be a good allowance to use
thanks Jeff

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 11949
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by Adrian »

Depends on the material, the bit being used, the rigidity of the machine etc. You have to experiment to find the right value.

cusoak
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 445
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: box joint creator moving

Post by cusoak »

Thanks for all of your help
Jeff

Post Reply