Biesse rover A post processor

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.
Post Reply
garv123
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:39 am
Model of CNC Machine: Maxicam m4

Biesse rover A post processor

Post by garv123 »

Hi, we've a new biesse rover A machine at work, it has its own cad cam software but we're also looking to use Vectric.
The one provided in the post processor folder is too old, last modified in 2007.

Is it possible to download a new one?

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10243
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Biesse rover A post processor

Post by Adrian »

Does it work? Why does the age of it matter? The standard g-code processor that many people use hasn't been updated since 2006 for instance.

There are lots of threads on the forum from people running those machines. They aren't as straightforward as most due to their software but if you use the forum search for "Biesse" you will get a wealth of information.

Good luck.

garv123
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:39 am
Model of CNC Machine: Maxicam m4

Re: Biesse rover A post processor

Post by garv123 »

I was just told by the lads installing the machine that the ones we have for vectric are for an older version machine.

garv123
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:39 am
Model of CNC Machine: Maxicam m4

Re: Biesse rover A post processor

Post by garv123 »

After talking to the guys installing the machine, the 2008 machine isnt the same as the newer models, they changed to a new model and didnt make the rover anymore, then made another machine and rebranded it with the old rover model name.

Who makes post processors ? are there people working for vectric that could do it for us?

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10243
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Biesse rover A post processor

Post by Adrian »

It's the control language that matters not the machine itself. For example there are loads of different machines that run Mach3 as their control software so they all use that post processor rather than a specific one for the machine.

If none of the provided ones are suitable you'll have to write your own (there is a guide on the Cut2D Help menu) or contact Vectric to see if they have one or could create one.

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1542
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Biesse rover A post processor

Post by ger21 »

All the Italian machines use proprietary control software, which tends to change slightly with each new version of the machines. You'll need to compare some working code with the code from the old Aspire post, and modify the post to work with your new machine.
The main difference tend to be in the header sections.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

Post Reply