So why am I suddenly getting this message

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

So why am I suddenly getting this message

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

I have V-10.016
Any Ideas?
message.JPG
“I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more”

User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1307
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
Location: Marquette, MI, USA

Re: So why am I suddenly getting this message

Post by IslaWW »

Upgraded to v10 and didn't uninstall v9.5? Used 9.5 to try and open a v10 file?
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com

BigC
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 7:06 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Workbee

Re: So why am I suddenly getting this message

Post by BigC »

As above, Did it open previously or have you upgraded? (did the upgrade overwrite the latter)?
Sometimes if you have trial versions installed on your computer and you dbl click the .crv file then it may try to open in one of those instead of your full program.it happens to me all the time. (forgetful) I either have to call the file from within the full program or right-click on the specific file in a folder and chose the full program to open it. Or you can right-click on the file choose Open with --> Chose Default Program...then select the V Carve program of your choice, make sure you check the box "Use this application for all .crv files" and your good to go.
Now if the .crv was written in a trial version on a different computer it won't open. in the full version (which I also learned).


Regards
C

BigC
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 389
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 7:06 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Workbee

Re: So why am I suddenly getting this message

Post by BigC »

I just ran a test.
I too was running ver 10.012 and got a prompt that ver.10.016 was available. I made ready a file I knew I had made with the 10.012 ver.
Then I upgraded to 10.016. (on a second computer in the bedroom just in case something went awry) 8)
The computer ran the updater and then it ran a patch.. You are then prompted to shut down the program and click retry on the prompt box. After the cycle was complete I got a message saying the upgrade was successful. I again shut all down and opened up my file in 10.016
It does work, Everything works as normal.
So not sure why you are not able to open latter created files other than what's been stated above. Probably check out exactly what is ERROR CODE 103 also, I think its something to do with a conflict with Chrome and that may be what the patch was for...Did your updater run a patch?
Santa.PNG
It's only a draft and not yet complete (a simple peg-board) I may even ditch the idea but this file was created with the latter version and now opens as expected in 10.016
Regards
C

Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

Re: So why am I suddenly getting this message

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

This only happened after I installed the trial version of Aspire.
I have since uninstalled Aspire.
Strangely enough this does not happen to all of my files.
Its only a couple that I have made recently. (and they were made in V10)
Yes, I can open them up from within the program.
However, when I close the file, it will not open again. (without going through the program)
“I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more”

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10744
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: So why am I suddenly getting this message

Post by Adrian »

This usually happens when someone has two versions installed and the file association gets mixed up between the two. With V10 VCarve will be listed as VCarve 10 in the Windows Open with list whereas any other version shows as just VCarve,

Jan.vanderlinden
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Xcarve
Location: Columbus Ohio

Re: So why am I suddenly getting this message

Post by Jan.vanderlinden »

So I just uninstalled V-9 and V9.5
It seems to be working fine now.
Thanks for the tips.
“I've learned so much from my mistakes, I'm thinking of making a few more”

Post Reply