Layer Clipping 3d Components

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
bgrose4321
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2019 2:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom AR8 Pro

Layer Clipping 3d Components

Post by bgrose4321 »

Hello all,

A friend wants me to duplicate this sign for them. I have all the component clip arts. The issue is I am having trouble cutting the 3D elements off at the border vector. I believe this is called Layer Clipping. I am using Vcarve-pro 10 and having no luck achieving the desired design.

Any help would be appreciated.
Attachments
Deer Sign
Deer Sign

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4447
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: Layer Clipping 3d Components

Post by mtylerfl »

Hi,

The feature is called "Level Clipping" (not Layer clipping)

Here is a link to the "What's New" video. Go to 9:26 to view the level clipping section:



I could not locate a dedicated Level Clipping video tutorial. Perhaps I missed it or perhaps it hasn't been posted yet.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4772
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: Layer Clipping 3d Components

Post by martin54 »

You just need to use boundary vectors, the 3D componts outside the vector will still show in the 2D view but will not show in the toolpath preview if you use the Vector boundary option when creating toolpaths. :lol:
Not sure how level clipping works as not used it myself yet.

ezurick

Re: Layer Clipping 3d Components

Post by ezurick »

The way I would attack that is to first establish a common shape height for each model. For example, if the border model is separate, go into the modeling and highlight the border, then hit the change properties of the model and set the Shape Height to something like .25. Now do this same setting to every model. Additionally, when in the Modeling, re-select the border model and create a vector boundary. Of course then go into your material setup and check your settings. Be sure there are no errors and I usually set the Gap Above Model to something like .001.

Then do a rough and finish 3D toolpath, select all of the models INCLUDING the border outside vector and at the Machine Limit Boundary, select the Selected Vectors option. This will tell the program to carve (both rough and finish) to a .25" depth everything inside that outside boarder vector. Easy peasy... ;) I hope this doesn't make things more confusing.

For the letters, just use a V bit 60 deg and Vcarve toolpath. Be sure to select 'Project Toolpath onto 3D Model' at the bottom of the toolpath menu.

I learned this by dissecting other 3D projects from the Vectric free monthly projects...

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4772
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: Layer Clipping 3d Components

Post by martin54 »

ezurick, there doesn't appear to be a border model, it's just the components within the internal rectangle I believe. :lol: :lol:

Post Reply