Please Help Create ToolPath - other software 3D Model

This forum is for general discussion regarding VCarve Pro
Post Reply
eddiegnz1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 3:20 am
Model of CNC Machine: 6040

Please Help Create ToolPath - other software 3D Model

Post by eddiegnz1 »

Please help me create a toolpath for the 3D model I created in other software.
I watched the tutorial video where she imports the flower but neither that video nor any other guides/tutorials address the problem i'm having.
I can't see the model in the 2D view (see attached screen shot).
The 3D model from other software does not fit into the job size yet it's only 51mm while the job size is 6x8inches.
I tried to calculate toolpath but it gives error that there is no 3D model to make a toolpath for.
Here's the file exported from other software

https://www.dropbox.com/s/hmlxim3o1gvyd ... L.stl?dl=0

I'm an extreme beginner and have never used Vcarve before. And I'm trying to learn to make a toolpath in Vcarve Desktop rather than learning toolpaths in other software.

i'm more thankful than you might imagine
Eddie
Attachments
No2DModel.JPG

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4790
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: Please Help Create ToolPath - other software 3D Model

Post by martin54 »

Sounds like you haven't finished the import process, you have a blue model showing in your screenhot, that is the import screen, at the bottom of the form on the righthand side on that page you have to click the OK button to actually create the 3D model in vcarve. :lol: :lol:

Start a new job in vcarve, once you set your material up then import your component, the import screen will come up on the right hand side, just work down the form & click OK at the bottom.

This tutorial covers importing files, at about the 5 min mark it talks about importing stl files :lol: :lol:

https://support.vectric.com/tutorials/V ... ideo_id=89

eddiegnz1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 3:20 am
Model of CNC Machine: 6040

Re: Please Help Create ToolPath - other software 3D Model

Post by eddiegnz1 »

no, that's not it. Once I click "OK", the blue 3D model goes away and it becomes a flat two dimensional rectangle
Attachments
Becomes2Drectangle.JPG

eddiegnz1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 3:20 am
Model of CNC Machine: 6040

Re: Please Help Create ToolPath - other software 3D Model

Post by eddiegnz1 »

what is this small red box outlined in red...and why is it so much smaller than the 3D model? see attached screen shot
Attachments
Error Msg.JPG
RedBoxOutline.JPG

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10255
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Please Help Create ToolPath - other software 3D Model

Post by Adrian »

You've started two posts on this which makes things a bit confusing. I've already replied on your other one. You were 100% not completing the import phase properly as the model is only shown in that colour during the import phase which is why you weren't getting the toolpaths created.

The problem you are having now is that you didn't scale the model correctly for the size of the material you have set up. If you watch the tutorial video (as Martin had already suggested) it's all explained there - https://support.vectric.com/tutorials/V ... ideo_id=89

User avatar
Mark
Vectric Staff
Posts: 1007
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC Shark, ShopBot, Roland PNC3000
Location: Alcester U.K.
Contact:

Re: Please Help Create ToolPath - other software 3D Model

Post by Mark »

Hi Eddie,

If you are struggling and do not wish to post up your model,
drop us an email to support and we can help with this.

Cheers,

Mark.

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4790
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: Please Help Create ToolPath - other software 3D Model

Post by martin54 »

Mark wrote:Hi Eddie,

If you are struggling and do not wish to post up your model,
drop us an email to support and we can help with this.

Cheers,

Mark.
There is a dropbox link in the original post Mark, don't know if it works though lol

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10255
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Please Help Create ToolPath - other software 3D Model

Post by Adrian »

eddiegnz1 wrote:what is this small red box outlined in red...and why is it so much smaller than the 3D model? see attached screen shot
The red box is the dimensions of the material you specified when creating the VCarve job. As you can see the model is far larger so you need to adjust the size of the material or the model to fit. I tried your file and the native size of the model is 50 units square.

As an aside that piece should really be machined using 2D toolpaths rather than 3D. It would be much faster.

Post Reply