Router Bit Wrenches GRRRRR!!!!!

This section is for useful tips and tricks for Aspire
Post Reply
User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3152
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Router Bit Wrenches GRRRRR!!!!!

Post by TReischl »

Well, not grrrrr anymore.

I don't know about the rest of the folks using a router that requires two wrenches to loosen the collet, but it was an issue for me. Those thin wrenches had a nasty habit of becoming disengaged at exactly the wrong time.

The other day I was in one of my drawers full of "stuff" and I spied a few extra router wrenches. I taped two of them together to make a "fat" wrench with packing tape.

Ahhh, life is good!!!

BTW, my router used to have a little pin that one pushed in so only one wrench was required. You guessed it, it broke off long ago. Which is why I suppose PC made sure there were still two nuts.
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones

User avatar
larrybadgett
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 1:21 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopSabre
Location: Corning, Iowa USA
Contact:

Re: Router Bit Wrenches GRRRRR!!!!!

Post by larrybadgett »

Half inch deep socket works very well for the lower nut! ☺
Woodchip
Wud Bi Tek
http://wudbitek.com/

User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3152
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Re: Router Bit Wrenches GRRRRR!!!!!

Post by TReischl »

Larry? I am trying to picture how to use a socket? I definitely do not follow what you are saying?
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: Router Bit Wrenches GRRRRR!!!!!

Post by martin54 »

TReischl wrote:Larry? I am trying to picture how to use a socket? I definitely do not follow what you are saying?
+1

Only way I can see that working is to just use the socket & I wouldn't have thought you would be able to pull the nut tight enough with just the socket :lol: :lol:

User avatar
larrybadgett
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 422
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 1:21 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopSabre
Location: Corning, Iowa USA
Contact:

Re: Router Bit Wrenches GRRRRR!!!!!

Post by larrybadgett »

:D
larrybadgett wrote:Half inch deep socket works very well for the lower nut! ☺
Half inch drive deep socket ( 1 1/8 inch I think ) on a ratchet bored out! Have been using for over a decade and works very well. Only need a open end wrench with extended length router bits. :) :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Woodchip
Wud Bi Tek
http://wudbitek.com/

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Router Bit Wrenches GRRRRR!!!!!

Post by ger21 »

BTW, my router used to have a little pin that one pushed in so only one wrench was required.
Learning to properly use two wrenches is SOOO much easier than a spindle lock, imo.

The key is to position the two wrenches so you can squeeze them together with one hand. You'll be able to get the nut tighter, and loosen it far, far easier.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3152
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Re: Router Bit Wrenches GRRRRR!!!!!

Post by TReischl »

ger21 wrote:
BTW, my router used to have a little pin that one pushed in so only one wrench was required.
Learning to properly use two wrenches is SOOO much easier than a spindle lock, imo.

The key is to position the two wrenches so you can squeeze them together with one hand. You'll be able to get the nut tighter, and loosen it far, far easier.
Agree with you there, been doing that since about forever. But I would still get a problem every now and then with that miserable thin wrench slipping off. Never a problem on the router table, but upside down on the cnc? Oh yea. Since I taped the two wrenches together it hasn't happened.
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones

User avatar
dwilli9013
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1232
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:45 am
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Self Designed Self Built
Location: Machesney Park Illinois

Re: Router Bit Wrenches GRRRRR!!!!!

Post by dwilli9013 »

The back of my fingers and myself thank you for that tip Ted..... :lol: :lol: :lol:
D-Dub
Dwayne
Dwilli

Post Reply