jpeg to vector double lines

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
dave gangster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:56 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home made 3 axis 715mm x1mt

jpeg to vector double lines

Post by dave gangster »

ScreenHunter_96 Jan. 12 08.54.jpg
Hi can any one help , want to take a photo of my guitar plans and turn them in to vectors . When i do this they come out split double lines not single line. Ihave tried on line conversion plus Inkscape and converting to pdf nothing works any ideas thanks Dave.

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4671
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by mtylerfl »

Hi Dave,

I would use the plans as a guide only and draw accurate vectors by hand. It won’t take too long, as the vector drawing and editing tools will make the job a snap!
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

dave gangster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:56 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home made 3 axis 715mm x1mt

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by dave gangster »

Thanks Michael will try that all the best Dave.

User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1633
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (retired)
Location: Burien, WA USA

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by FixitMike »

The trace tool draws a line wherever there is a change in color. With a line, the color changes as you approach the line, and the color changes as you leave the line, thus the trace ends up with two lines. One way to get a single line is to open the jpg in Paint (or, I prefer paint.net) and use the paint tool to fill in between the outline of the part with the same color as the line. That way you have a solid to trace and you end up with only a single outline.

Suggestion: After tracing the bitmap, use the Curve Fit tool with Beziers to smooth the lines and reduce the number of nodes.
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

dave gangster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:56 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home made 3 axis 715mm x1mt

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by dave gangster »

Thanks for your help will give it a go thanks Dave.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10449
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by Adrian »

You need a centre line trace to avoid the double lines which are needed for v-carving. There are several free programs that do centre line tracing and some free online services such as those offered by RapidResizer. I prefer to draw vectors by hand using the bitmap as a guide but a centre line trace tool can get you there faster if you're not used to the tools.

dave gangster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:56 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home made 3 axis 715mm x1mt

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by dave gangster »

Thanks Adrian will have a look at it . Dave.

Will Williamson
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:45 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Thermwood CS-45 5 x 10
Location: Capac, Michigan
Contact:

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by Will Williamson »

We need the centerline option, in Aspire, This is an Aspire week point.
Other software's have had this for 20 years.
Will Williamson willcnc.com willmade.com
Williamson Lumber & Millwork Inc.
Capac, Michigan

vip-klaus
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 1:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Wabeco F1410 LF-C HS; Sorotec AL1110
Location: Wurmberg, Germany

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by vip-klaus »

Will Williamson wrote:We need the centerline option, in Aspire, This is an Aspire week point.
Other software's have had this for 20 years.
agree!

dave gangster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:56 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home made 3 axis 715mm x1mt

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by dave gangster »

Let; hope some one from Aspire reads this and does something about it as it's not a cheep program, you would think it would be included thanks Dave. :?

User avatar
gkas
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 789
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:39 am
Model of CNC Machine: Aspire, Axiom AR8 Pro+, Axiom 4.2W Laser
Location: Southern California

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by gkas »

dave gangster wrote:Let; hope some one from Aspire reads this and does something about it as it's not a cheep program, you would think it would be included thanks Dave. :?
There is. Use a profile toolpath and cut "on the line". Specify whatever bit depth you like.

For Vcarving, you need two lines. The V-bit goes to depth riding between the two lines. That's how you get varying depths, the wider the space, the deeper the carve.

dave gangster
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 7:56 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home made 3 axis 715mm x1mt

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by dave gangster »

Hi please read my first post. I took a photograph jpeg file and brought it in to aspire that when the double lines showed this is not for v carve . Trying to make a guitar neck and the double lines make it impossible for me to work with. Thanks fore your reply. Dave

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10449
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by Adrian »

With such a simple shape it would be far quicker to just manually trace over the bitmap using the drawing tools than trace with an automatic program and then correct all the joins, artefacts, misalignments etc that always happen when tracing unless the original image is an extremely high resolution and completely non-aliased image.

LittleGreyMan
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis small size machine
Location: France

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by LittleGreyMan »

Adrian wrote:With such a simple shape it would be far quicker to just manually trace over the bitmap using the drawing tools than trace with an automatic program and then correct all the joins, artefacts, misalignments etc that always happen when tracing unless the original image is an extremely high resolution and completely non-aliased image.
+1

When you need a center trace, no doubt this is the best solution.

Even if Aspire had an automatic center trace option (which would be an interesting feature when you have a complex artistic drawing to vectorize), drawing manually for simple shapes will give much cleaner vectors.

Automatic tracing may generate a lot of nodes which will require some cleaning to get optimized toolpaths. The fit curves to vectors feature is you friend in this case.
Best regards

Didier

W7 - Aspire 8.517

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4881
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48,Denford Triac Modified
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: jpeg to vector double lines

Post by martin54 »

If People would like Vectric to look at adding centre line tracing as an option in the trace bitmap module then the best thing to do is send a feature request to support. If eonough people request a feature or change then they will look at how it can be done.
It's not something that gets mentioned very often on the forum so there may only be a small number of users who would use it.

Your original post said you had tried other trace programs as well as the one built into Aspire & none of them worked properly, the reason for that is the poor quality of the artwork you are trying to trace, a centre line trace wouldn't give you any better results, in fact they might be far worse :lol:
As Adrian & LGM have said manually tracing is the best option with poor quality artwork & Aspire has all the tools you need to be able to do that. Unfortunately it is something that takes time to learn how to do well but once mastered you can reproduce just about any image regardless of how bad the quality is :lol: :lol:

Post Reply