First Project with Cut3D - The Greenman

The Gallery is for posting images of work machined using Cut3D
Post Reply
User avatar
broomfi
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: Kuka KR60
Location: Wiltshire, England, Great Britain
Contact:

First Project with Cut3D - The Greenman

Post by broomfi »

This is my first post, so I hope this works....

https://www.facebook.com/pg/autosimeng/ ... 0827479355

I hope you can all see this link, it should be public, if it doesn't work please let me know/hurl abuse as you see fit. :oops:

I need to get a propper spindle, can anyone recommend a supplier in the UK?
Attachments
CutPathSim.jpg
CutPathSim2.jpg

Bobtail Farm
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 3:53 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Homemade

First Project with Cut3D - The Greenman

Post by Bobtail Farm »

was able to view your link/facebook page.
splendid work in developing the model.
unclear what you want to solve for re "proper spindle".
wondering if you are able to, and do in fact license the model(s) you develop?
Swell machine.
thanks for the peek.

User avatar
broomfi
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: Kuka KR60
Location: Wiltshire, England, Great Britain
Contact:

Re: First Project with Cut3D - The Greenman

Post by broomfi »

Thanks for the reply Bobtail Farm.
This was my first time developing a decent mesh from a scanned point cloud so it took me a while to get an understanding of the best (free) way to do it.
My router is currently a hand tool that I mounted on the end with a makeshift wooden bracket. I need to get something a bit more industrial and with better clearance to the job. I just ordered a cheap Chinese spindle from ebay, it would be good to find a supplier in this country..

Bobtail Farm
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 3:53 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Homemade

First Project with Cut3D - The Greenman

Post by Bobtail Farm »

I still have "only" a normally handheld router mounted to my machine, now with an aluminum bracket.

As I do not (yet) have Aspire, I use (somewhat) Blender to create/modify 3d models importing into V-carve Pro.

looking forward to seeing more of your project and sucessful integration of your spindle, and learning.
thanks.

User avatar
broomfi
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: Kuka KR60
Location: Wiltshire, England, Great Britain
Contact:

Re: First Project with Cut3D - The Greenman

Post by broomfi »

Sorry, I didn't mean to offend your spindle.. :oops:
The one I've got works fine, but limits the access to the job due to the router handles and attachment brackets. It's making it difficult to get the angled cuts that I need to do next.
So far I only have Cut3D, but it's brilliant!
All the best.

User avatar
broomfi
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: Kuka KR60
Location: Wiltshire, England, Great Britain
Contact:

Re: First Project with Cut3D - The Greenman

Post by broomfi »

43% scale oak carving. Need a bigger tree for the full size!
Attachments
WP_20170620_19_03_43_s.jpg
WP_20170621_12_29_18_s.jpg
WP_20170621_12_29_41_s.jpg

LittleGreyMan
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis small size machine
Location: France

Re: First Project with Cut3D - The Greenman

Post by LittleGreyMan »

Interesting project and nice result.

How did you drive a 6 axis machine with cut3D?

Did you "simply" used 3 axis after defining the right datum plane and origin?
Best regards

Didier

W7 - Aspire 8.517

User avatar
broomfi
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: Kuka KR60
Location: Wiltshire, England, Great Britain
Contact:

Re: First Project with Cut3D - The Greenman

Post by broomfi »

LittleGreyMan wrote:Interesting project and nice result.

How did you drive a 6 axis machine with cut3D?

Did you "simply" used 3 axis after defining the right datum plane and origin?
I produced several models at different orientations to give different cut angles for Cut3D, I had to transform the base frames in the robot program, using the geometric operator, to align these different datums.
I also wrote some python scripts to add angles for clearances etc.
I had to reduce the size of the files as this is an old robot and the RAM and file size is limited, so I wrote some python scripts to remove duplicated coordinates, I also used these scripts to add angles depending on the values of the coordinates.
This was a trial to see what I could produce, I hope to improve the finish on the next ones.
I started looking at mastercam but it is out of my financial reach. I think this Vectric Cut3D solution works well with a bit of extra effort..

User avatar
dwilli9013
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1232
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:45 am
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis Self Designed Self Built
Location: Machesney Park Illinois

Re: First Project with Cut3D - The Greenman

Post by dwilli9013 »

Very nice work. How did you come to own the Kuka KR16. I used to work with KUKA quite a lot. Always wished I could get my hands on one at a decent price.
An electric rotary die grinder may give you the reach you are looking for if you clamshell clamp on the back half. Would kind of limit you to 1/4 and 1/8 inch shank bit though.
Thanks for sharing.
D-Dub
Dwayne
Dwilli

User avatar
broomfi
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: Kuka KR60
Location: Wiltshire, England, Great Britain
Contact:

Re: First Project with Cut3D - The Greenman

Post by broomfi »

dwilli9013 wrote:Very nice work. How did you come to own the Kuka KR16. I used to work with KUKA quite a lot. Always wished I could get my hands on one at a decent price.
An electric rotary die grinder may give you the reach you are looking for if you clamshell clamp on the back half. Would kind of limit you to 1/4 and 1/8 inch shank bit though.
Thanks for sharing.
Hi, I got the robot for an inspection project for GKN Aerospace, but they decided to cancel the project, so I've just been trying to do something constructive with it. 3D printing is going to be my next little project. (if I don't run out of money first!)
I got a nice little Chinese spindle on ebay, seems to work well so far..
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1-5KW-AIR-COO ... 1438.l2649

LittleGreyMan
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis small size machine
Location: France

Re: First Project with Cut3D - The Greenman

Post by LittleGreyMan »

broomfi wrote:
LittleGreyMan wrote:Interesting project and nice result.

How did you drive a 6 axis machine with cut3D?

Did you "simply" used 3 axis after defining the right datum plane and origin?
I produced several models at different orientations to give different cut angles for Cut3D, I had to transform the base frames in the robot program, using the geometric operator, to align these different datums.
I also wrote some python scripts to add angles for clearances etc.
I had to reduce the size of the files as this is an old robot and the RAM and file size is limited, so I wrote some python scripts to remove duplicated coordinates, I also used these scripts to add angles depending on the values of the coordinates.
This was a trial to see what I could produce, I hope to improve the finish on the next ones.
I started looking at mastercam but it is out of my financial reach. I think this Vectric Cut3D solution works well with a bit of extra effort..

So "simply" 3 axis was the right word :D

Thanks for sharing. Impressive background work.
Best regards

Didier

W7 - Aspire 8.517

User avatar
broomfi
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: Kuka KR60
Location: Wiltshire, England, Great Britain
Contact:

Re: First Project with Cut3D - The Greenman

Post by broomfi »

Thanks for your supportive comments!
Dwayne, I see you built your own 3 axis, I'm thinking about building one as robots are not so accurate for following toolpaths.. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Post Reply