Time for a bigger monitor

User avatar
ChrisInEstes
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 835
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:00 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Vytek 4' X 8' - Perske Spindle - Mach3
Location: Estes Park, Colorado, USA

Time for a bigger monitor

Post by ChrisInEstes »

I've been using a Dell UltraSharp 24 incher... It's a good one, I just want a larger size.

I'm thinking a 32 inch 1560 x 1440 res should do it. It has the same pixel size, but lots more area. I'm leaning towards a BenQ BL3200PT - $440 on Amazon, or maybe the newer version of it... BenQ BL3200PT - $499 on Amazon.

Does anybody here use a 1560 x 1440 32" monitor? What do you have? Do you like it?

Thanks!
Chris
Aspire 9.5 - FlexiEXPERT 11 - Vytek Rebel 4' x 8' - 5HP Perske Spindle

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by Rcnewcomb »

1560 x 1440
Do you mean 2560 x 1440?

I have the Apple 27" display.

I'm a big fan of multiple monitors. I consider 2 smaller monitors more flexible than 1 large monitor.
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1291
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
Location: Marquette, MI, USA

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by IslaWW »

Chris...
I am with Randall on this one. I use dual 22" (1920 x 1080) Drawing screen on one, all the tabs on the other
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10225
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by Adrian »

Multiple monitors is definitely the way to go. Much more flexibility. I used to use three 1920x1200 monitors but I use two these days. One has the drawing area on it and the other has all the drawing, modelling,toolpath, layers tabs etc on it.

When I had three monitors I had the same setup but with the 2D and 3D windows spread across two of them. As 99% of my work these days is 2D I dropped the third one.

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4763
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48 (modified)
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by martin54 »

I would have to agree with Randall & the others as well, you would be much better adding a second monitor if you are happy with the one you are currently using. :lol:

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1540
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by ger21 »

I use dual 23" Dells at home and dual 27" HP's at work. All are 1920x1080. The HP's were $120 each, and are fine, unless you really need a high end monitor.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

User avatar
mezalick
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2533
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:07 am
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by mezalick »

Mine also,,,, Both are HP 23" diagonal LCD, 1920 x 1080, HDMI & VGA

Michael
Michael Mezalick
https://carveddetails.com
mm@mezalick.com

flying_flip
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:38 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Piranha FX / VCarve Desktop
Location: Tucson, Arizona

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by flying_flip »

I use dual Monitors 1 HDMI connection, the other standard VGA (15pin sub-D).
Also the left Monitor rotated for viewing Word Docs in the same format as Printed Docs.

Check out https://pcpartpicker.com/ for the best deals.

Phil

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by Rcnewcomb »

My current setup at work
FullSizeRender (19).jpg
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3027
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254 Chinese Made
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Contact:

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by Leo »

Dual 24's at home and at work.

If I did anything at all to go bigger - it would still be dual monitors.

I can DEFINITELY see the usage of three monitors.

Single monitor is not an option.
I would rather have dual 17's than a single 34.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com

MarkJohnston
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 814
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 4:51 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster MC4848
Location: Prescott AZ

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by MarkJohnston »

I also have two 24" monitors. One went out the other day and I had to replace it right away. It's supper good when doing Vectric tutorials, work the tutorial on one and watch the tutorial on the other. You can pause and go so easy I always recommend that new people get a 2nd monitor.

Mark

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by Rcnewcomb »

I do have some friends who have the Dell UltraSharp 34 Curved Ultrawide Monitor - U3415W and like it quite a bit. It is as wide as two monitors.
Image
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

User avatar
ChrisInEstes
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 835
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:00 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Vytek 4' X 8' - Perske Spindle - Mach3
Location: Estes Park, Colorado, USA

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by ChrisInEstes »

Yep, I meant 2560 x 1440. If I had a larger monitor, I may have noticed that... :mrgreen:

I was thinking of going with a 2-monitor setup just before last Christmas... I even had another Dell 24" in my Amazon cart but didn't pull the trigger quick enough, and the 1-day sale was over. I thought maybe a single larger one might be the ticket, but I think you're all correct. The plan now is a new 27", that'll save some money, or get me a better monitor, or maybe both. If it bugs me that there's a 24" & a 27" side by side, or it doesn't work or look good, I can move the 27" to this "office stuff" box, and move that 24" over to the CAD/CAM system so they're the same.

My display card supports 2 monitors, so I'll experiment with how I hook them up, and see what works, or works best.

Maybe a future Aspire upgrades/updates will have dual monitor control built in...

Thanks for the advice. I'll post back before I order one.

Chris
Aspire 9.5 - FlexiEXPERT 11 - Vytek Rebel 4' x 8' - 5HP Perske Spindle

User avatar
ChrisInEstes
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 835
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:00 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Vytek 4' X 8' - Perske Spindle - Mach3
Location: Estes Park, Colorado, USA

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by ChrisInEstes »

This is the one... I think...

BenQ PD2700Q $329 on Amazon. It's 1 version old, but essentially the same as the new version. It has a CAD/CAM mode! oooooo :roll:

http://www.benq.us/product/monitor/pd2700q

Chris
Aspire 9.5 - FlexiEXPERT 11 - Vytek Rebel 4' x 8' - 5HP Perske Spindle

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Time for a bigger monitor

Post by Rcnewcomb »

Maybe a future Aspire upgrades/updates will have dual monitor control built in...
It already works great with multiple monitors
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

Post Reply