Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.
User avatar
Mike-S
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1112
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:45 am
Model of CNC Machine: Joe's Hybrid 4x4 (but 3x3)
Location: Hayesville, NC

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by Mike-S »

In Mach 3, try checking 1/2 pulse Sherline.
Attachments
1-2pulse.jpg

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1526
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by ger21 »

Mike-S wrote:In Mach 3, try checking 1/2 pulse Sherline.
That won't have any affect with the Smoothstepper.
Try reducing your acceleration and velocity in motor tuning.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

Azulikit
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:09 pm
Model of CNC Machine: homemade

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by Azulikit »

I will try that but I don't understand why this would happen at first every once in a while now every time I run it

Azulikit
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 3:09 pm
Model of CNC Machine: homemade

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by Azulikit »

In Mach 3, try checking 1/2 pulse Sherline.

That won't have any affect with the Smoothstepper.
Try reducing your acceleration and velocity in motor tuning.
Gerry

I changed the speed and velocity and had no change . It still stopped briefly while the g-codes are still reading.
Thanks for the help
Ken

bertvanderhulst
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 3:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Oliver 1015

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by bertvanderhulst »

Hello all,

I am relative new to cnc,i built my first machine together with a friend, and we used Mach3 ,but since a few week i have a Oliver 1015 and use V-carve desktop.

My question is, can i use g code files created in Lazy-cam for Mach3 ( these file have been saved as "tap" files)?

If i am correct i cannot open a "tap" file in V Carve, Maybe a stupid question but can i just rename a "tap" file to and safe it as a "nc" file to be used in V Carve?

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10106
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by Adrian »

You can't load a gcode file into VCarve.

VCarve (via the selected post processor) creates gcode files that you load into Mach3.

PsychFarDigest

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by PsychFarDigest »

well. i met a similar problem and i found the answer from this thread :lol:

adam_m
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 1:12 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home made

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by adam_m »

Having a problem viewing the forum at home... possibly IP is banned?

I'm not sure whom to ask about the problem... just a trial user.

Thanks,

adam_m
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 1:12 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home made

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by adam_m »

I'm still trying to get my IP un-banned from the site, anyone can help?

I'm pretty sure it happened when my account somehow got nuked...

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10106
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by Adrian »

See if your IP is blacklisted anywhere (https://mxtoolbox.com/) most forums subscribe to at least a couple of those blacklists to detect spammers and if the IP you've been allocated via your ISP used to be one of those that could be the problem.

adam_m
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 1:12 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home made

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by adam_m »

Thanks for the reply Adrian, I assumed it was the site since I'm able to do the same on my webserver.

So, they don't blacklist IP's or ban them?

Also check the blacklist and its all good...
Attachments
SNAG-0027.jpg

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10106
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by Adrian »

adam_m wrote: So, they don't blacklist IP's or ban them?
No idea, the forum is primarily for user to user support. You'd need to contact vectric directly to get an answer to a question like that.

nstrong
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:22 am
Model of CNC Machine: piranha fx

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by nstrong »

I am planning to upgrade to vcarve pro so I can use the dove tail gadget. is it possible to have one side be a blind dovetail? If so do I increase the board width for the blind side, or adjust the depth of cut

gutzy
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 6:42 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna Smartshop 2

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by gutzy »

Error message....

I am getting an error message:
target position / positive SW end (G00,G01)
X axis program number -1
blocknumber N 3790
I imported a drawing and set the tool path with no issues and this is the error message I get when I try to start my project. Any advise on fixing this error?

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10106
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Support Pages and Frequently Asked Questions

Post by Adrian »

That's not an error from a Vectric program though is it? Looks more like an error from your controller software.

Post Reply