problem with an mesh

This forum is for general discussion about Cut3D
Post Reply
cri050871
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Basic1500

problem with an mesh

Post by cri050871 »

Hello .
Can somebody help me explain how to work with an STL mesh than ned to import in Cut3D and remain as mesh nand not cut the end ??
I need cu carve the back of an guitar neck but when I import in 3D and then in 2D appears like in picture. its cut the end of mesh .
Attachments
1.png

Frunple

Re: problem with an mesh

Post by Frunple »

Your material is not thick enough.

cri050871
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Basic1500

Re: problem with an mesh

Post by cri050871 »

it is .The problem are that I canot know how to make it to not cut at the ends of mesh and just carve the back of neck and then separately cut the entire shape of the neck

Frunple

Re: problem with an mesh

Post by Frunple »

cri050871 wrote:it is .The problem are that I canot know how to make it to not cut at the ends of mesh and just carve the back of neck and then separately cut the entire shape of the neck
Maybe I don't understand but it looks like it's cutting the ends because the material is too thin.
Set the material thickness to 4" and run the toolpath again.

eph210
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:23 am
Model of CNC Machine: Stinger 1 and Mabel, both with 4 axis
Location: southern Alberta, Canada

Re: problem with an mesh

Post by eph210 »

There isn't a way, that I know of, to limit the cutting in Cut3D. It will cut the entire model including the edges. You will have to make the changes to the .stl model before importing it into Cut3D. Cut3D will have to cut the entire neck assembly as a 3D object.
Euan

PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Contact:

Re: problem with an mesh

Post by PaulRowntree »

What does Cut3D do if the model is larger than the material ?
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com

eph210
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:23 am
Model of CNC Machine: Stinger 1 and Mabel, both with 4 axis
Location: southern Alberta, Canada

Re: problem with an mesh

Post by eph210 »

Interesting thought, so I tried it out. The roughing and finishing toolpaths still continue out to the extents of the model but you get a warning that this might be hard on clamps.
I also tried a 3D raster roughing toolpath with a small stepover and .001 machining allowance. It doesn't completely cut down to the cut plane but does still roll over the edges a bit marking up the surrounding material.
Euan

cri050871
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Basic1500

Re: problem with an mesh

Post by cri050871 »

so ,what I can do ??? some ideas or someone to help me ?

Post Reply