Resolution and TBN bits

Tips, tricks and questions about the free Vector Art 3D Machinist from http://www.vectorart3d.com or Design & Make projects

Moderator: Todd Bailey

Post Reply
User avatar
Aussie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:44 am
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom AR6 Pro
Location: Adelaide Australia

Resolution and TBN bits

Post by Aussie »

Hi all,

If I setup using High and cut using a 1/32 TBN bit versus setting up with Very High using a 1/16 TBN model size is approx 120mm x 80mm
Will I see a difference in the detail of the cut model ? cut time is not a consideration.

Thanks,
Ron
Ron
Crafers Crafts

User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4368
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP10.5**
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US

Re: Resolution and TBN bits

Post by scottp55 »

After I'm caffeinated I'll mention more, but to get started Ron...have you watched this?
https://support.vectric.com/tips-and-tr ... video_id=9
D&M models were made for a .125" Ball Nose at a certain project size.
So there's a point where no matter how small a TBN you use....there will be no difference.
But I usually use Maximum anyways with highest preview simulation...
AFTER I use a low res setup for playing around at different sizes for wood selection and playing.
"Flatness is King!"
B. Watson

scott

User avatar
scottp55
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4368
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:30 am
Model of CNC Machine: ShopbotDesktop 5.5"Z/spindle/VCP10.5**
Location: Kennebunkport, Maine, US

Re: Resolution and TBN bits

Post by scottp55 »

D&M made details for an 1/8"BN at say an 8X10" (totally guessing that size...just an example).
So at half size all details will be there with a 1/16" TBN...
And reduce by half again, and a 1/32" TBN will have all the details.
Going any smaller doesn't change a thing.

Going to Maximum (50X) resolution before importing, with the smallest material size the project needs,
Is going to give you best "Pixel Saturation" and will smooth out the Jaggies quite a bit for better carve.

IF model isn't a D&M and is highly detailed...then after a 7X resolution test file with model outlines,
I'll "Save As" a new file at Max res(50X setup)...delete the low res models, and re-import and use all the
settings/sizes from the last file...and use the previous borders to place models exactly where they were.

Then starts the process of deciding details vs time on the bit to use.
I usually do the largest bit I guess will work....then the next size down...rinse and repeat.
Then preview from the largest bit down to smallest(without resetting preview,
and at Very High Preview Quality.....when I can't notice any difference at all...Undo Last and use that bit.
I DO go all the way to .25mm TBN (and even a 30* engraving bit with a .005" flat)...
as Owls DO have nostrils, feathers/fur have details/ and everything should have eyeballs
(not a "suggestion" of eyeballs!).
But then I'm a detail freak, and if an artist stuck a detail in their model...I WANT it! :)

Guess my espresso is finally working...rambling.
scott
"Flatness is King!"
B. Watson

scott

Post Reply