Cut depth and coloring a Photo VCarve?

This forum is for general discussion about PhotoVCarve.
firstshot425
Model of CNC Machine: Will be custom built by me

Cut depth and coloring a Photo VCarve?

Post by firstshot425 »

I'm new to Photo VCarve as it was just added as an upgrade to VCarve Desktop. I just carved my first Photo VCarve piece (See pic below) and was expecting a little bit more detail. I used a 30 degree VBit at a cut depth of .1", max number of lines, and 45 degree hatch cut angle and the carving was done in Maple.

What is the best VBit size to be using and at what cut depth?
What is the best method for coloring the carved piece so that the pic shows up better?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Doug

GEdward
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: 24 X 36 3 Axis

Re: Cut depth and coloring a Photo VCarve?

Post by GEdward »