Z-axis touch plate probe. Experiences?

This forum is for general discussion about PhotoVCarve.
Post Reply
User avatar
jaru-eri
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 3:11 am
Model of CNC Machine: Taig and router, Gecko G540, Mach3
Location: Norway

Z-axis touch plate probe. Experiences?

Post by jaru-eri »

Will this probe be accurate enough for setting the zero point?
https://www.ebay.com/itm/CNC-Z-Axis-Mac ... ctupt=true

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3801
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Z-axis touch plate probe. Experiences?

Post by Rcnewcomb »

That should be adequate.
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

steve323
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 9:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Homebuilt kit

Re: Z-axis touch plate probe. Experiences?

Post by steve323 »

I use a similar probe and it works great with Mach3. There are routines on the web for the algorithm. I modified the routine to print the amount of Z-height change. Back to back Z-height calibrations will typically be less than 0.001" on my machine.

If your spindle is grounded, then you don't need to use the red clip. Or at least I don't have to use the clip.

Steve

KMoffett
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 10:13 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Milltronics VKM4

Re: Z-axis touch plate probe. Experiences?

Post by KMoffett »

Interesting...no indication of the height accuracy: "Size: approx. 3.5 x 2cm/ 1.38 x 0.79inch (D x H) "
Maybe I'm just used to real accuracy in height sensors.

Ken

steve323
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 9:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Homebuilt kit

Re: Z-axis touch plate probe. Experiences?

Post by steve323 »

The height accuracy is not an issue after it is calibrated for your machine. It becomes a constant that gets subtracted during the calibration routine.

Steve

Post Reply