Router

This forum is for general discussion about PhotoVCarve.
Post Reply
Ivanho1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 3:17 am
Model of CNC Machine: shark hd4

Router

Post by Ivanho1 »

I have a shark HD4. My router does not turn on in Photocarve. I found where the pp are but photocarve will not accept the one from vcarve. I am trying to use the demo program.
Thanks

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10227
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Router

Post by Adrian »

The VCarve one will work but you need to delete the arc sections a PVC doesn't support those.

Ivanho1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 3:17 am
Model of CNC Machine: shark hd4

Re: Router

Post by Ivanho1 »

took out all of the arc lines. Still would not load into PC.

User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1291
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
Location: Marquette, MI, USA

Re: Router

Post by IslaWW »

Each time you restart PVC it will tell you which line is not compatible. Remove that section. Rinse and repeat.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4444
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by mtylerfl »

Ivanho1 wrote:took out all of the arc lines. Still would not load into PC.
Is this because you are using the Demo software?
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

Ivanho1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 3:17 am
Model of CNC Machine: shark hd4

Re: Router

Post by Ivanho1 »

Yep using demo. Trying to decide if I want to buy it. If it won't work with my SharkHD4 then probably not. I watched the video under varve but am not able to try it as the demo won't let you save. Hate to spend the money on something I am not sure will work. Thanks for the replies.

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4444
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: Router

Post by mtylerfl »

You may want to ask your fellow Shark users on the Shark Forum. Perhaps they can confirm that PhotoVCarve will work on your system.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

LittleGreyMan
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis small size machine
Location: France

Re: Router

Post by LittleGreyMan »

IIRC, the demo will just allow you to output code for the sample files, not for your own design.

You'll have to check with these file, without changing the design. You may be able to change tool and cutting parameters, but I'm not sure.

You can edit the pp, though.

If it's not your issue, could you explain step by step what you are doing?
Best regards

Didier

W7 - Aspire 8.517

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10227
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Router

Post by Adrian »

Ivanho1 wrote:Yep using demo. Trying to decide if I want to buy it. If it won't work with my SharkHD4 then probably not. I watched the video under varve but am not able to try it as the demo won't let you save. Hate to spend the money on something I am not sure will work. Thanks for the replies.
The demo will let you save the sample files. It will definitely work with your machine. It's just a matter of using the right post processor which you can download here - http://shop.nextwaveautomation.com/shop ... x?recid=26

Ivanho1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 3:17 am
Model of CNC Machine: shark hd4

Re: Router

Post by Ivanho1 »

OK. I loaded the PP for my machine. It still does not turn on the router. I guess it just won't do that. Thanks for the help anyway.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10227
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Router

Post by Adrian »

Ivanho1 wrote:OK. I loaded the PP for my machine. It still does not turn on the router. I guess it just won't do that. Thanks for the help anyway.
Just add the code from the VCarve one that turns on the router to the PVC one. The PP files are designed to be user editable. There is a guide on the VCarve help menu. Alternatively you can create the toolpaths in PVC and then save/import the PVC file into VCarve and output all the code from there using the one post processor. Many ways to skin the same cat.

Ivanho1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 3:17 am
Model of CNC Machine: shark hd4

Re: Router

Post by Ivanho1 »

VCARVE tech spt sent me a pp that works. Off and running.

Darrol15
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 12:26 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot 48 Buddy

Re: Router

Post by Darrol15 »

I am having the same problem on my Shopbot Buddy 48 I bought the PhotoVCarve and I can't make the router turn on. Can someone help?

Post Reply