7w laser module

mcamp001
Model of CNC Machine: Mill Right Mega V

7w laser module

Post by mcamp001 »

Please forgive the questions, I'm still new at this....
I purchased the 7W JTech laser for my Mega V and have it all hooked up. If I turn it on, it proceeds to burn my spoilboard, so I think it is hooked up correctly.
I have VCarve Prov11.x and the laser module for it. I'm confused on how to use it with the laser. I see the laser tool paths and have tried them in the drawing. I guess the first question is; Do I need UGS or openbuilds to run the tool paths? I see several references to using a laser program, so that is the first step of confusion.

Second - The laser assembly has separate power from the CNC machine, so how do they work together, or don't they? Does the alternative 'laser' program control the cnc movement?

I think by understanding these parts I may be able to figure out the rest.

Thanks in advance for any info.

Tex_Lawrence
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko3XXL; JTech7W; V-CarvePro 11.554

Re: 7w laser module

Post by Tex_Lawrence »

I basically have the same equipment that you have except for my Shapeoko. A lot of what I tell people is what I learned from others here on this forum.

I create the design with the laser toolpaths and laser tool and laser post processor for my machine.

When you are saving a laser toolpath, you are saving gcode. So, you need some sort of gcode sender to actually operate your laser while attached to your machine. This isn't really different than using a milling bit on wood.

I use a gcode sender available from Sienci called gSender, and the forum is at https://forum.sienci.com/ with further information available.

You can acquire a "laser program" like the one called other laser software that will allow separate control of your laser.
Tex — Crooked Wood Products
Now there's a man with an open mind – you can feel the breeze from here.

Airport11
Model of CNC Machine: Leads 1515

Post by Airport11 »