Next Wave 2W Laser (For newbies like me)

TPA2022
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD500

Next Wave 2W Laser (For newbies like me)

Post by TPA2022 »

New to the board & tool. I am still learning to operate it all. But I did get my first project set up. The machine moved but no laser activation. After a quick phone call with Next Wave they sent me new Postprocessors in an email. That did the trick, laser flashed and burned away.

Just wanted to post incase any new owners run into the same problem.

Tex_Lawrence
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko3XXL; JTech7W; V-CarvePro 11.554

Re: Next Wave 2W Laser (For newbies like me)

Post by Tex_Lawrence »

Welcome to the forum! I added a J-Tech 7W laser to my machine. Its fun figuring out how much laser to add to projects that I cut.
Tex — Crooked Wood Products
Now there's a man with an open mind – you can feel the breeze from here.

dljones10
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD5

Post by dljones10 »

You will enjoy the laser depending on what you will be doing with it. It is limited and it doesn't work with photos very well. I tried a couple of times and it may be my setup but it didn't look very good. There is another thread on this forum with someone working with New Wave on getting post processor issues resolved using the Vectric laser module.

You may also discovered that the laser is not centered with the laser shaft. I was trying to laser within a carve and never did get it to work like I wanted. I attached a test picture of what I am talking about. The four circles were burned with the laser turned at 0, 90,180,and 270. You can see how far the laser is off from center. New Wave just said that is the way it is and they can't do anything about it. So it is best to try and secure the laser cable to the router so laser doesn't turn inadvertently. I use a velcro strap to secure cable near top of my spindle with cable pointing towards front of machine. Also attached a sample of what I am using the laser to create.