Laser/software question.

Nlalston
Model of CNC Machine: Axiom Iconic 8 CNC

Laser/software question.

Post by Nlalston »

Hello everyone.

I'm a newbie to be, here, with a question. In the next few weeks I should be receiving my CNC (Axiom Iconic 8), with the optional 2.8w laser module. Does the latest version of VCarve Pro feature all of what's needed for the functioning of said laser? I've come across a few posts where users were using the 'other laser software' software for their laser works. Would that be a necessity for me, or is it that their need for running an additional program is due to their having a bit older version of VCarve? Please inform.

Advanced thanks,
Nathan
Blessings,
Nathan

Vectric Aspire 11
Axiom Iconic 8
Onefinity X50
Jtech 2.8w & 7w lasers

mtylerfl
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha

Re: Laser/software question.

Post by mtylerfl »

Hi Nathan,

Here is a link that should be helpful regarding the optional software Laser Module and a list of supported CNC laser add-ons:

https://www.vectric.com/products/laser-module

Here is a link to the specifications and Post Processors for the Axiom Laser by JTec:

https://www.axiomprecision.com/jtech-2- ... r-kit.html
Michael Tyler

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

gkas
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Aspire, Axiom AR8 Pro+, Axiom 4.2W Laser

Post by gkas »

The Axiom, add-on laser DOES NOT provide variable power to the laser. It is either on or off. They call it an "etching laser". There is a manual switch to direct power to either the laser or the spindle. The B18 controller also needs some manual changes. The only way to control the density of the burn is by changing the spindle feed rate. From the Axiom Iconic laser module page "The laser unit does not allow for software variability of output intensity. Therefore greyscale is not supported."