laser module with Piranha FX

evowoodworking
Model of CNC Machine: Piranha fx 110

laser module with Piranha FX

Post by evowoodworking »

I'm a newbie, I'm just starting. I can't seem to figure out the laser module with the picture feature. I was able to do letters, however when I try to import a picture. I always get a black image after runnign the toolpath. I keep getting this error message when I'm trying to crop the image. " You must select a picture and at least one vector to trim with. Trimming vector must be close". I'm at lost I watched the video on youtube with the baby picture I have followed every step but keep getting this error message. What am I missing?

Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: laser module with Piranha FX

Post by Adrian »

When you crop a picture you need two things. The first is the picture and the second is the shape that you want to crop the picture to which must be a closed shape. You can use a circle, rectangle, polygon, star etc etc. Whatever shape you want but it must be closed vector. You can't crop to just a line for instance.

Once you have your closed vector shape select it and the picture together (Press Ctrl-A to select everything or left click while holding down the shift key on each in turn) and then click the Crop tool icon. All parts of the picture outside of the shape will then be removed.

evowoodworking

Post by evowoodworking »

I have tried that already, I have the picture in, I can draw a circle using the crop option around it like you said but it won't take it. It's a jpg file, I even tried without cropping just the picture in and run the toolpath but again, I get a black image or just line, I tried to edit the picture in every possible way, nothing gives me the actual picture result. I even tried a different picture. There must something I'm missing.

evowoodworking

Post by evowoodworking »