Laser module with 3018 Pro?

TompaD
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2021 4:13 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC3-3018Pro

Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by TompaD »

Hi!

I own a cheap CNC3 3018 Pro (grbl) and wonder if anyone have used
the Laser Module from Vectric on similar machine?

I own Cut2D Desktop which work well with the cnc, and thought
that having the ability to run the laser with Cut2D would be nice,
instead of loading another application.

Regards
Thomas

wb9tpg
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 453
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:49 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XL

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by wb9tpg »

Does your controller support Laser Mode ($32=1) and does it have a PWM Output?
Gary Mitchell
Kentucky, USA

TompaD
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2021 4:13 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC3-3018Pro

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by TompaD »

wb9tpg wrote:
Wed Sep 15, 2021 10:07 pm
Does your controller support Laser Mode ($32=1) and does it have a PWM Output?
Regarding $32=1, yes I think so - I have used Candle and LaserGrbl in parallell before.
Is there a way to check this (yes I am a newbie)?

Regarding PWM - I checked the output for laser and one of the pins(pair) had PWM
written on the controller board.

Thanks for your answer.

Regards
Thomas

wb9tpg
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 453
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:49 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XL

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by wb9tpg »

If you can send the "$$" command to your controller post the results. There are several parameters worth looking it. Using that info we can give you some tests to run to see if you really can control the PWM signal. Do you have a spindle where you control the speed with software now or are you using a router with manual speed control?
Gary Mitchell
Kentucky, USA

TompaD
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2021 4:13 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC3-3018Pro

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by TompaD »

This come out from console after $$:

Code: Select all

[CTRL+X] < Grbl 1.1f ['$' for help]
S1000 < ok
$$ < $0=10
$1=25
$2=0
$3=2
$4=0
$5=0
$6=0
$10=1
$11=0.010
$12=0.002
$13=0
$20=0
$21=0
$22=0
$23=0
$24=25.000
$25=500.000
$26=250
$27=1.000
$30=10000
$31=0
$32=1
$100=800.000
$101=800.000
$102=800.000
$110=1000.000
$111=1000.000
$112=600.000
$120=1000.000
$121=1000.000
$122=30.000
$130=200.000
$131=180.000
$132=40.000
ok
I guess I got the spindle not the router with manual speed control.

wb9tpg
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 453
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:49 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XL

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by wb9tpg »

So here are the important parameters.

$30 = Maximum RPM
$31 = Minumum RPM -> I'd recommend something small like 500 or 1000
$32 = If 1 then Laser Mode is on - if 0 then Laser Mode is off

Maximum RPM --- If you have a spindle or think you want your CNC to control your spindle RPM from vectric anytime in the future I'd set that value to the maximum RPM the spindle supports - this is 24000 on my machine.

There is a line in your post processor that must work in sync with that parameter

VAR POWER = [P|C|S|1.0|240.0]

It's used to convert the Laser Power from a Percentage to an RPM for the controller. You can read up on this parameter but the line I provided does the following in combination with the CNC controller

In the Vectric Laser Module if I set it to 100% the post processor will multiply 100 x 240 = 24000 and place that in the gcode. When the gcode is sent to the CNC the controller will see the 24000 in the gcode and look at parameter $30 and $31. Because 24000 is in parameter $30 the controller will magically set the PWM output to 5V (some controllers use 10V).

We can test if you controller really supports the PWM output if you have a voltmeter. Attach it in DC mode between PWM and Ground.

1. Change the POWER entry in your postprocessor and save in your My_PostP folder. V11 changed how this is done so you'll need to research that.

2. Change $30, $31 to 24000 and 500 (if you want to use my recommendation)

3. Send $32=0 to turn laser mode off

4. Enter M3S24000 and the voltage should read 5V

5. Enter M3S0 and the voltage should read 0V

6. Enter M3S12000 and the voltage should read 2.5V

7. If that works you can connect the PWM output from your CNC Controller to your Laser. I connected mine to both my Spindle Controller and Laser in parallel and it all works perfect. If I set the RPM on a spindle toolpath the spindle reads that number (or very close). If I set the Laser toolpath to 50% the Gcode generated puts in S12000 in the gcode and the laser runs at 50% power.

Let me know if this does not make sense to you

Good Luck

If this all works we can work on helping you improve your post processors to improve your workflow.
Gary Mitchell
Kentucky, USA

TompaD
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2021 4:13 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC3-3018Pro

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by TompaD »

Vow!

A lot to digest - I will look at this and come back!

Thanks a lot for your knowledge!

Regards
Thomas

TompaD
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2021 4:13 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC3-3018Pro

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by TompaD »

Hi again!

I am on way to test the thing but got one question:

I looked at the controller and it had one port for the spindle and
another for the laser(3-pin) and that laser port is labeled 12V, PWM and GND.

Does this affect your suggestions from earlier post?

And another question - I checked and my spindle have max 9000 so
I put in $30 = 9000 and $31=500......should my VAR POWER then
look like this:

VAR POWER = [P|C|S|0.5|90.0]

...? I want to double check with you before I do something stupid..VAR POWER = [P|C|S|1.0|240.0]


Edit:
One more thing - I found out that only laser port has PWM not the spindle port.

wb9tpg
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 453
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:49 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XL

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by wb9tpg »

Don't change this 1.0 - it's used to control the format of the output and not the actual value of the output. I'd say use this as your starting point for the test. You can measure the voltages on both PWM outputs for both your spindle and laser. I suspect your controller is doing something very nice for you there but lets see what the meter reads.


VAR POWER = [P|C|S|1.0|90.0]
Screen Shot 2021-09-20 at 11.42.02 AM.png
Gary Mitchell
Kentucky, USA

TompaD
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2021 4:13 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC3-3018Pro

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by TompaD »

wb9tpg wrote:
Mon Sep 20, 2021 4:41 pm
Don't change this 1.0 - it's used to control the format of the output and not the actual value of the output. I'd say use this as your starting point for the test.
Ok - will change it back to 1.0 so it looks like this:
VAR POWER = [P|C|S|1.0|90.0]
You can measure the voltages on both PWM outputs for both your spindle and laser.
But its only the laser port that have PWM output. The spindle port does only have 2 pins (black and red) so no PWM.

wb9tpg
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 453
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:49 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XL

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by wb9tpg »

Typically there is only one PWM signal on a controller so that's not unexpected.
Gary Mitchell
Kentucky, USA

TompaD
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2021 4:13 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC3-3018Pro

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by TompaD »

Ok Gary, I´ve got a voltmeter.
wb9tpg wrote:
Sat Sep 18, 2021 2:38 am
We can test if you controller really supports the PWM output if you have a voltmeter. Attach it in DC mode between PWM and Ground.
Done!

1. Change the POWER entry in your postprocessor and save in your My_PostP folder. V11 changed how this is done so you'll need to research that.
Done, its now VAR POWER = [P|C|S|1.0|90.0]
2. Change $30, $31 to 24000 and 500 (if you want to use my recommendation)
I used VTransfers console window and set $30 to 9000 and $31 to 500
3. Send $32=0 to turn laser mode off
Check!
4. Enter M3S24000 and the voltage should read 5V
I entered M3S9000 but the meter shows 00.00.
My controller have some lights, a blue one lights until I put voltmeter on ground and pwm,
then it stops shining.
If this all works we can work on helping you improve your post processors to improve your workflow.
There is something not right....

TompaD
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2021 4:13 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC3-3018Pro

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by TompaD »

OOoooh hit me hard with something at my head!
I am soo stupid - I used the wrong setting on voltmeter!

M3S9000 shows 4,76
M3S4500 shows 2,36
M3S0 shows 0,0

What is the next step?

wb9tpg
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 453
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 2:49 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3 XL

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by wb9tpg »

Next test is to see if your controller supports laser mode. We'll verify it's working by showing the PWM signal stays zero when the CNC isn't moving. Then we'll verify voltage is present only while the CNC is moving

1. Turn on Laser Mode $32=1
2. Repeat the steps you did before
- M3S9000 shows 4,76
M3S4500 shows 2,36
M3S0 shows 0,0
3. It might be 0v or not with M3 commands with Laser Mode on (measure it); try to change the M3 to M4 commands and see if it makes a difference.
4. I'll assume it was 0v with all the M4 commands for this step. If working properly the voltage should only rise above 0v with laser mode on while the gantry is moving (and it can't be a rapid move (ie. G0) it must be a G1 or similar move). So measure the voltage by moving the gantry with a $32=1 then M4S9000 then a G1XnnnYnnn command to move the gantry. You should see the voltage rise while the gantry is moving. Pick the n values for your CNC based on how it wants those numbers. Make it a long movement as the voltmeter has a poor response time.

Report back. If it that worked you've successfully verified you can put a laser on your CNC.
Gary Mitchell
Kentucky, USA

TompaD
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2021 4:13 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CNC3-3018Pro

Re: Laser module with 3018 Pro?

Post by TompaD »

wb9tpg wrote:
Thu Sep 30, 2021 9:19 pm
Report back. If it that worked you've successfully verified you can put a laser on your CNC.
Uhu...aha....I think we misunderstood each other, maybe I was not clear, english is not my native language.

I have run my cnc with LaserGRBL and a laser module(hardware) and that worked well.
My question was about the Laser Module (addon to Cut2Ddesktop) from Vectric and if anyone have made
that software work with a 3018 Pro CNC. Vectric doesn't list my machine as supported, thats why I asked.

Sorry for taking up your time :oops: .... but I learned some new things about CNC :D

Regards
Thomas

Post Reply