Alternate line starting points

This forum has been created for users to submit suggestions for Gadgets
Post Reply
User avatar
andyb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:11 am
Model of CNC Machine: MultiCAM, Shopbot PRTAlpha
Location: Oakwood, GA
Contact:

Alternate line starting points

Post by andyb »

I would like to see a gadget that would alternate the starting point for a series of lines. Example if you have a series of open vertical lines and the start point is at the bottom of all the lines. The gadget would alternate the start points from bottom to top or top to bottom. This would be very handy when creating textures. It would keep the gantry moves of the toolpaths down.

Andy B.
[b]Oak Branch Manufacturing[/b]
andy@oakbranchmfg.com
678-971-5502
[url]http://www.oakbranchmfg.com[/url]

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10470
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Alternate line starting points

Post by Adrian »

Paul's GreenSquares gadget does that already I believe - http://paulrowntree.weebly.com/gadgets.html

User avatar
andyb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:11 am
Model of CNC Machine: MultiCAM, Shopbot PRTAlpha
Location: Oakwood, GA
Contact:

Re: Alternate line starting points

Post by andyb »

Adrian,
I checked it out a while back and I think that is the one thing it doesn't do but I will have a look again and report back.

Thanks

Andy B.
[b]Oak Branch Manufacturing[/b]
andy@oakbranchmfg.com
678-971-5502
[url]http://www.oakbranchmfg.com[/url]

User avatar
FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1634
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 5:21 am
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (retired)
Location: Burien, WA USA

Re: Alternate line starting points

Post by FixitMike »

To use the GreenSquares gadget to flip the starting points on every other vector, add a line that is below the (Assuming vertical) vectors, at a distance about equal to the length of the lines, and select it and every other line and then run the gadget. The extra line is to to provide an offset to the center of the GreenSquares selection bounding box.

I would move the selected vectors to another layer and turn off the original layer for convenience in working with them, but this is not necessary .

If you select all of the vectors and open the Offset tool, you can see where the start nodes are on all of them.
Good judgement comes from experience.
Experience comes from bad judgement.

User avatar
andyb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:11 am
Model of CNC Machine: MultiCAM, Shopbot PRTAlpha
Location: Oakwood, GA
Contact:

Re: Alternate line starting points

Post by andyb »

Mike,
The problem is that the files have hundreds of lines on several layer. If would be nice to select all the lines on a layer and have the start point flip. Selecting every other line is not an option.

Andy B.
[b]Oak Branch Manufacturing[/b]
andy@oakbranchmfg.com
678-971-5502
[url]http://www.oakbranchmfg.com[/url]

PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Alternate line starting points

Post by PaulRowntree »

Andy, check out the video, I think the gadget does exactly what you are asking for (unless I am missing something).

When Mike wrote "select every other line" he meant "all of the other lines", not "1, 3 5 7 etc"



Cheers!
pr
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com

Post Reply