Easy MDF Cabinet Door Maker

This forum is for users to submit their own gadgets to the community
Post Reply
User avatar
sharkcutup
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1946
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:48 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3 Pro Extended Bed with Spindle
Contact:

Re: Easy MDF Cabinet Door Maker

Post by sharkcutup »

Hi Jim -
I'm receiving a "No layer found with name = Door Scribe Lines" and "Door Flutes" with the attached settings. Though as far as I can tell, I'm not missing a toolpath or any design element.

Have I misinterpreted a setting/tool usage, perhaps? Thanks for the gadget and any help you can provide!
errormsg.jpg
Those messages are shown whenever you do not choose to have Scribe lines and Door Flutes on your doors. I usually just ignore those messages because I understand the gadget entirely to well now.

I noticed that you are using 11.7 Version of the Gadget. According to this thread 11.9 is the most recent from Jim.

Sharkcutup
V-Carve Help is Available!!!
Private Message Me!
V-Carve Pro 11.504

User avatar
sharkcutup
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1946
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:48 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3 Pro Extended Bed with Spindle
Contact:

Re: Easy MDF Cabinet Door Maker

Post by sharkcutup »

Hello All,

I have been busy BETA TESTING and updating the Easy Door Maker Gadget. Found a few Issues and fixed a few issues recommended by other users of the gadget.

What is New:
• Fixed Oval Door with Crossing Flute Lines Hiccup --- variable "pty" was not recognized
• Fixed Double Arch Hiccup -- Second panel was not being created when creating doors up in length (say a 57" door)
• Standardized Flute and Fluting to "Flute"
• Standardized Inter to "Inner".
• Added note to "Inside Edge Milling" on User Interface.
• Added note to "Divider Width" on User Interface.
• And there are too many changes for me to remember them all.

Version 12.0

The Easy Install Steps:

1. Download the gadget EasyMDFDoorMaker.zip that is attached to this post.
2. Rename it from EasyMDFDoorMaker.zip to EasyMDFDoorMaker.vgadget
3. In Vectric Pro, Aspire, or Cut2D Pro click on Gadgets -> Install Gadget and navigate to where you downloaded the file to, select it and click Ok.

If successful, a pop up saying the gadget was installed and you should see EasyMDFDoorMaker is now in the Gadgets menu.

EasyMDFDoorMaker12.0.zip
(1.71 MiB) Downloaded 143 times
Rename to: EasyMDFDoorMaker12.0.vgadget

Please leave me some feedback . I hope you find it useful.

ATTACHMENTS
Screenshot 5.png
Screenshot 4.png
Screenshot 3.png
Screenshot 1.png
Screenshot 2.png
Sharkcutup (with permission From Jim Andi5000 of Jim Andi Gadgets)
V-Carve Help is Available!!!
Private Message Me!
V-Carve Pro 11.504

User avatar
sharkcutup
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1946
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:48 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3 Pro Extended Bed with Spindle
Contact:

Re: Easy MDF Cabinet Door Maker

Post by sharkcutup »

Correction ---

Arched Style Hiccup --- Second panel was not being created when creating doors up in length (say a 57" door)
Screenshot 6.png
Sharkcutup
V-Carve Help is Available!!!
Private Message Me!
V-Carve Pro 11.504

Tvister
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2022 10:31 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CanCam C2-510ATC

Re: Easy MDF Cabinet Door Maker

Post by Tvister »

Hey what a great gadget!!!
Would it be possible to add a feature for automatic rounded profile corners on the doors?

User avatar
jimandi5000
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 900
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Home Made 60 x 120
Location: North Houston Tx.
Contact:

Re: Easy MDF Cabinet Door Maker

Post by jimandi5000 »

Tvister wrote:
Mon Dec 05, 2022 11:34 pm
Hey what a great gadget!!!
Would it be possible to add a feature for automatic rounded profile corners on the doors?
Sure, I can do that.

How this works is you post a drawing of what you are thinking about and I will add options to the gadget to add it.
Thanks,
Jim

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3324
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Easy MDF Cabinet Door Maker

Post by adze_cnc »

Hello Jim,

A trivial error found around line 1126 of EasyMDFDoorMaker_Ver12.0.lua:

Code: Select all

  Pdialog:UpdateLabelField("Door.Alert", "")
  if Door.Count < 1 then
    Pdialog:UpdateLabelField("Door.Alert", "Error: Door Count Required")
  elseif Door.Count < 1 then
    Pdialog:UpdateLabelField("Door.Alert", "Error: No Door Count Provided")
The "elseif Door..." line is a duplicate of the "if Door..." line and will never evaluate to true.

User avatar
sharkcutup
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1946
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:48 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3 Pro Extended Bed with Spindle
Contact:

Re: Easy MDF Cabinet Door Maker

Post by sharkcutup »

adze_cnc wrote:
Tue Jan 10, 2023 12:26 am
Hello Jim,

A trivial error found around line 1126 of EasyMDFDoorMaker_Ver12.0.lua:

Code: Select all

  Pdialog:UpdateLabelField("Door.Alert", "")
  if Door.Count < 1 then
    Pdialog:UpdateLabelField("Door.Alert", "Error: Door Count Required")
  elseif Door.Count < 1 then
    Pdialog:UpdateLabelField("Door.Alert", "Error: No Door Count Provided")
The "elseif Door..." line is a duplicate of the "if Door..." line and will never evaluate to true.
Thank You, Stephen !!! :D

I have reviewed this item and it will be resolved in an updated version (whenever that may be).

Sharkcutup
V-Carve Help is Available!!!
Private Message Me!
V-Carve Pro 11.504

User avatar
jimandi5000
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 900
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Home Made 60 x 120
Location: North Houston Tx.
Contact:

Re: Easy MDF Cabinet Door Maker

Post by jimandi5000 »

adze_cnc wrote:
Tue Jan 10, 2023 12:26 am
Hello Jim,

A trivial error found around line 1126 of EasyMDFDoorMaker_Ver12.0.lua:

Code: Select all

  Pdialog:UpdateLabelField("Door.Alert", "")
  if Door.Count < 1 then
    Pdialog:UpdateLabelField("Door.Alert", "Error: Door Count Required")
  elseif Door.Count < 1 then
    Pdialog:UpdateLabelField("Door.Alert", "Error: No Door Count Provided")
The "elseif Door..." line is a duplicate of the "if Door..." line and will never evaluate to true.
Thanks for finding this and showing it to us. Yep, I had duplicated the error trap to prevent some other poetical issue and should have removed the duplicated code. The user will never see the second message so it will be removed on the next release.

Thanks again! :)
Thanks,
Jim

Post Reply