Developer: mobdebug.lua file after upgrade

This forum is for users to submit their own gadgets to the community
Post Reply
CNCDaveToo
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:47 am
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Desktop
Location: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

Developer: mobdebug.lua file after upgrade

Post by CNCDaveToo »

Heeheehee, I'm _sure_ that _none_ of you would ever forget to do this, but some of us (me) are a little slow on the uptake, so I thought I'd post this as a reminder to myself the next time I spend a couple of hours barking at the computer....

When upgrading to a new version of the software and expecting your gadgets to work in debug mode, it really, really helps when you remember to copy the mobdebug.lua file into the respective upgrade directory. For me it was a jolly time re-remembering this for a couple of hours today. I found that when I copied my the mobdebug.lua file into my
...\Program Files\VCarve Pro 9.5\Lua

subdirectory, it made that annoying "attempt to load nil" go away and had the gadget working again so very nicely.

Just a tip from your old Uncle Dave....

User avatar
jimandi5000
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 497
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Home Made 60 x 120
Location: North Houston Tx.

Re: Developer: mobdebug.lua file after upgrade

Post by jimandi5000 »

Hi Dave,
Thanks for the info... I just loaded the Lua IDE and I was digging a round for how to link Vcarve and the only place I found it in a video. I am thinking this should be in the SDK document.

What are your thoughts?
Thanks,
Jim

CNCDaveToo
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 3:47 am
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot Desktop
Location: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

Re: Developer: mobdebug.lua file after upgrade

Post by CNCDaveToo »

I'm with you on that :)
Be kind.

Post Reply