Wolf's head in mahogany

An area to upload images of pieces cut using VCarve Pro
wilkigr
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: Sienci Long Mill

Wolf's head in mahogany

Post by wilkigr »

I bought this as an stl file online. It's my first attempt at a sliced project in VCarvePro.

I watched Todd's videos on the sliced gorilla and the sliced apple until I thought I had it figured out.

Material is mahogany. Final size is 5" in X, 6" in Y and 5" Z. It's made of up 5 x 1" slices, put together with dowels and glue. I used a 1/8" down cut bit for roughing and a 1/4" tapered ball nose, with a 1/32" tip for finishing. Total time was just under 2 hours, running quite conservatively.

Finish is rattle can lacquer.

All criticisms are welcome. :grinning:
wolf_1.jpg
wolf_2.jpg

AboveCreations
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: i2r B22

Re: Wolf's head in mahogany

Post by AboveCreations »

It looks pretty good. I am not sure what is going on with the mouth though. Perhaps it is my laptop video. I can't seem to zoom in to see details on this forum. I've done a similar sliced project about a year or so ago. And it was a bear on a wall clock. It was only 3 layers, but I can't remember the thickness of each. It also turn out pretty good.

But it leads to my question... you said you put it together with dowel and glue. Can you elaborate on that please? I mean, did you just randomly drill 1/4" holes on one side and found a way to match the other side hole up for the dowel? Just curious how you got them slices lined up for the dowels.

Tex_Lawrence
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko3XXL; JTech7W; V-CarvePro 12.004

Post by Tex_Lawrence »

AboveCreations wrote:
Fri Jan 14, 2022 7:02 am
... I am not sure what is going on with the mouth though....
I saw the same thing, at first. Look at the mouth as being closed. The open area below the mouth is chin and neck.

The lacquer really makes it glossy; perhaps too glossy?