cu2d laser

Post general information and questions relating to Cut2D in this Forum.
Post Reply
Forbesbrb
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 10:32 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Chinese 3020 and a chines 6040
Location: Aberdeenshire Scotland

cu2d laser

Post by Forbesbrb »

can someone tell me if cut2d can be used to run a laser

kyeakel
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:42 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger I, Shopbot PRT 9648
Location: Curwensville, PA

Re: cu2d laser

Post by kyeakel »

There is a cut2d laser version. I got it when i bought an emblaser off kickstarter some years ago. Not sure if it's available off their website.
I would imagine that it's mostly a matter of having a post processor that would output commands your machine can understand.
I think a lot of Chinese machines don't understand g-code.
CAMaster Stinger 1
Shopbot PRT 9648
Aspire 8
Cut2d,Cut2dLaser

ezurick

Re: cu2d laser

Post by ezurick »

kyeakel wrote:There is a cut2d laser version. I got it when i bought an emblaser off kickstarter some years ago. Not sure if it's available off their website.
I would imagine that it's mostly a matter of having a post processor that would output commands your machine can understand.
I think a lot of Chinese machines don't understand g-code.
That's not true. In fact, I don't know any that isn't GRBL compatible which reads g-code. To the OP. What software came with your laser?

kyeakel
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 3:42 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger I, Shopbot PRT 9648
Location: Curwensville, PA

Re: cu2d laser

Post by kyeakel »

The k40 i bought didn't understand g-code. I had to buy a 3rd party controller.
CAMaster Stinger 1
Shopbot PRT 9648
Aspire 8
Cut2d,Cut2dLaser

User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3559
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Re: cu2d laser

Post by TReischl »

Most chinese machines I have seen use garden variety g-code. Of course, there is always a company or two that has folks who think something non standard is sooooo much better, LOL.
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones

BDM
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: S.E. Michigan

Re: cu2d laser

Post by BDM »

Forbesbrb wrote:can someone tell me if cut2d can be used to run a laser
Yes it can and you don't have to buy a special version (not available to public to begin with). It's mainly a matter of getting the right PP to work with your machine. Without knowing what runs your machine, try this link, it has a lot of good information and some PP's that work out of the box or only need a little tweaking. I used the mach3 one without any problems.

https://jtechphotonics.com/?p=3851

Post Reply