Dogbone gadget won't install

This section is for general discussion about Gadgets
Post Reply
janders
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Avid PRO4896

Dogbone gadget won't install

Post by janders »

I'm trying to install the Dogbone gadget into VCarve Pro 10.512 on Windows 10 running under Parallels on a Macbook Pro. I download the installer and run it and it gets to the part where it lists what components to install... and there's nothing listed (see attachment). When I finish out the installer wizard, of course, the Dogbone gadget is not in the Gadgets menu.

Anybody have an idea how I can get this gadget installed? I really need it. I can't imagine having to hand draw all those dogbone fillets.
Screen Shot 2021-04-03 at 1.34.01 PM.png

Hermie
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 2:38 am
Model of CNC Machine: custom
Location: Duncan, BC, Canada

Re: Dogbone gadget won't install

Post by Hermie »

Can you not use the fillet tool under edit objects?

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 1453
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Dogbone gadget won't install

Post by adze_cnc »

If you are running a .EXE file then it’s for 9.x and below:
https://gadgets.vectric.com/V10/dogbone.html
is for v10.x

Fillet tool is good if you only have a handful to create.

janders
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Avid PRO4896

Re: Dogbone gadget won't install

Post by janders »

Good point. I definitely can for small projects. It just becomes really tedious on large jobs with dozens of parts. I do a lot of jobs with mortise & tenon joints, box joints and tab & slot joints. I'm not super excited about having to manually apply dogbones on every interior corner.
Hermie wrote:
Sat Apr 03, 2021 10:00 pm
Can you not use the fillet tool under edit objects?

janders
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Avid PRO4896

Re: Dogbone gadget won't install

Post by janders »

You are a legend. That was the problem. My Google search took me to an older dogbone gadget page.

A thousand thanks!!
adze_cnc wrote:
Sat Apr 03, 2021 10:11 pm
If you are running a .EXE file then it’s for 9.x and below:
https://gadgets.vectric.com/V10/dogbone.html
is for v10.x

Fillet tool is good if you only have a handful to create.

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 1453
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Dogbone gadget won't install

Post by adze_cnc »

Funny, whenever I search for a gadget for my v9.5 install I keep get v10.x ones...

Post Reply