Size of a box

This section is for general discussion about Gadgets
Post Reply
cusoak
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 443
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Size of a box

Post by cusoak »

In the gadget box creator using the Square Tabs.
If I want a box with an inside dimension of 8x 10 then what do I need to add to get that after it has been cut out.
Using.25 Baltic Birch plywood and .125 EM
Thanks Jeff

sharkcutup
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1187
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:48 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3 Pro Extended Bed with Spindle
Contact:

Re: Size of a box

Post by sharkcutup »

.5" (thickness of material x2) to both measurements should get you an 8" x 10" inside measured box using Square Tabs.

I always use a tolerance of .01 but of course that is for my machine

Sharkcutup
www.hoganscnccrafts.com
One on One V-Carve Help is Available!!!
PM me for details!
V-Carve 10.514

cusoak
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 443
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: Size of a box

Post by cusoak »

My next question is this I have tried everything I can think of to be able to move the parts around to get them set up so they don't a lot of wood.. When I try to move and rotate the parts the cut line does not move with it.
Jeff

cusoak
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 443
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: Size of a box

Post by cusoak »

My next question is this I have tried everything I can think of to be able to move the parts around to get them set up so they don't a lot of wood.. When I try to move and rotate the parts the cut line does not move with it.
Jeff

martindg
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 6:12 am
Model of CNC Machine: Openbuilds Ox
Location: Fresno, CA

Re: Size of a box

Post by martindg »

Did you recalculate the tool paths after moving the parts?

sharkcutup
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1187
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:48 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD3 Pro Extended Bed with Spindle
Contact:

Re: Size of a box

Post by sharkcutup »

cusoak wrote:

My next question is this I have tried everything I can think of to be able to move the parts around to get them set up so they don't a lot of wood.. When I try to move and rotate the parts the cut line does not move with it.
Jeff
I always group the vectors before moving then ungroup them after once satisfied with placement/location I then recalculate toolpaths. By Grouping the Vectors it keeps them all together when moving.

Sharkcutup
www.hoganscnccrafts.com
One on One V-Carve Help is Available!!!
PM me for details!
V-Carve 10.514

cusoak
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 443
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shapeoko 3D XXL

Re: Size of a box

Post by cusoak »

Thanks for the reply
Jeff

Post Reply