Dovetail Gadget

This section is for general discussion about Gadgets
Post Reply
MWinn
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:57 am
Model of CNC Machine: StepCraft 840

Dovetail Gadget

Post by MWinn »

Hello,

I have been trying for weeks to get the dovetail gadget to work in VCarve Pro 9.

When I create my sides and attemp to create my PINs I get the screen in the attached screenshot.
It always only creates one end of the pins in the correct spot.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

thanks

MW
Attachments
Dovetail Gadget.png

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10461
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Post by Adrian »

Change the start node on the vector that is the wrong way round to be on the other end and that will sort it.

MWinn
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 9:57 am
Model of CNC Machine: StepCraft 840

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Post by MWinn »

Ah, that was the culprit,

tyvm

MW

fredfow3
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:40 am
Model of CNC Machine: Laguna Swift 4x4, Shapeoko S3 XL
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Post by fredfow3 »

Just a tip,

If you make the boxes and use the "Explode Vectors" gadget on them, it will make all the start points correct.

Cheers,

Belgard
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:11 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shark extended bed 8.5

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Post by Belgard »

So, on my dovetail gadget, it is inserting the pins backward or facing outward. I am following the tutorial to the T, and its just not inserting them correct... help

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10461
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Post by Adrian »

Belgard wrote:So, on my dovetail gadget, it is inserting the pins backward or facing outward. I am following the tutorial to the T, and its just not inserting them correct... help
Have you changed the start node position?

Belgard
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:11 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shark extended bed 8.5

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Post by Belgard »

no, apparently not. How do I do that?

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10461
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Post by Adrian »

Go into node edit mode (press N) click on the vector and you'll see a green square at one end. Hover over the black node at the other end of the vector and press P to make that the start point. Rerun the gadget.

Belgard
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:11 pm
Model of CNC Machine: shark extended bed 8.5

Re: Dovetail Gadget

Post by Belgard »

thank you. it works!!!!!

Post Reply