First time dovetails

This section is for general discussion about Gadgets
Post Reply
Beltramidave
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 373
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 12:23 am
Model of CNC Machine: FLA Saturn 4x4 / JTech 7W laser
Location: Bemidji, MN
Contact:

First time dovetails

Post by Beltramidave »

First time trying to use the dovetail gadget so my issue could be user related.

When trying to create a dovetail, based on the tutorial I watched, I get a different end result. My dovetails on one end are being created outside the initial shape. I see that if I change the start point, so that it is different on each end, then it works correctly. Is this a required step, as I didn't see that in the tutorial?

I have downloaded the V9 compatible version...

Thanks
dovetail.jpg
Dave
https://lakesedgewoodcraft.com/

Beltramidave
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 373
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 12:23 am
Model of CNC Machine: FLA Saturn 4x4 / JTech 7W laser
Location: Bemidji, MN
Contact:

Re: First time dovetails

Post by Beltramidave »

Does nobody use this gadget? More curious if this was an issue with the 8.5 version.
Thanks
Dave
https://lakesedgewoodcraft.com/

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10725
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: First time dovetails

Post by Adrian »

Never had an issue with it like that but I always cut the vectors in the same order so I wouldn't have come across it. It works the same way as 8.5

Dadof2and2
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 3:10 am
Model of CNC Machine: Fine Line Automation

Re: First time dovetails

Post by Dadof2and2 »

I just tried to use it in ver. 9 I'm having the same unsuccessful results as you. The pins are also forming outside the original shape. Fortunately I did not uninstall 8.5. It works fine in 8.5. Looks like it needs some work for ver. 9. Glad I read your post or I'd still be messing with it.

Beltramidave
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 373
Joined: Thu May 14, 2015 12:23 am
Model of CNC Machine: FLA Saturn 4x4 / JTech 7W laser
Location: Bemidji, MN
Contact:

Re: First time dovetails

Post by Beltramidave »

Thanks for letting me know. I hadn't tried it before V9.
Dave
https://lakesedgewoodcraft.com/

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10725
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: First time dovetails

Post by Adrian »

It works in exactly the same way as 8.5 for me. You need to have the start point in the correct place in either version.

Dadof2and2
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 3:10 am
Model of CNC Machine: Fine Line Automation

Re: First time dovetails

Post by Dadof2and2 »

Looks like I was lucky when I tried it in 8.5. I tried it again in 9 making sure none of the lines shared a start point location and it works as expected. I stand corrected. It works fine. I've been waiting for this day for a long time. 70 years old and I finally made a mistake.

Post Reply