Chamfer Gadget

This section is for general discussion about Gadgets
Post Reply
brrian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: OpenBuilds WorkBee 1515

Chamfer Gadget

Post by brrian »

I'm playing with the Chamfer gadget & trying to create a .250" deep, 45 degree chamfer on .500" thick aluminum. I'm using a 3/16" flat end mill with a .025" pass depth. The chamfer gadget is cutting the chamfer in 5 passes. At .250" total depth, that's .050" per pass, which is too deep a pass.What's controlling the number of passes the gadget is taking? It doesn't seem to be the tool's pass depth.

User avatar
highpockets
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3201
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 4:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: PDJ Pilot Pro

Re: Chamfer Gadget

Post by highpockets »

The default Pass Depth is in the Tool Database.
You can override the default by selecting the Edit button, this will only modify the tool setting for the current Toolpath.
Or select the Edit passes button to control the Pass Depth.
Attachments
Image 892.png
Image 893.png
John
Maker of Chips

brrian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:14 pm
Model of CNC Machine: OpenBuilds WorkBee 1515

Re: Chamfer Gadget

Post by brrian »

I don't think it's using the default pass depth from the tool database. The tool I'm using has a .025" default pass depth, and I'm cutting a .250" deep chamfer. So it should cut in 10 passes, but it's only cutting in 5 passes, which would be .050" passes

Post Reply