axyz Toolpath

This forum is for requests and queries about machine tool support for Vectric Products
pacificbond

axyz Toolpath

Post by pacificbond »

I acquired a secondhand AXYZ Millenium a couple of years ago in anticipation of my retirement and the need to do something interesting (I was a boring accountant in my previous life!!).
I've updated the Toolpath to version 2.803.
I have VCarve Pro 4.6.
My first serious attempt to carve a simple sign is a disaster.
The design is the number 18 set in a circle on material 5" x 5" x 0.75"
Everything looks fine in VCarve. I save the file as an AXYZ nc file. I must admit that each crv file is over 1 mb which I perceive as rather big for a small job! (Am I using the wrong tool - 60 degree 1/4" V-bit)?
I open Toolpath and import it.
I run then analysis and click on the error tabs to correct them. I then output the job, save it, send it to the machine (this takes ages), set the surface z-axis and run the program.
After about half an hour it has done the first character but not even to the .25 depth inches I set.
Please - I'm obviously doing it wrong - but how, where??
Hope someone can be kind to this rookie!
Roger
PS reference file sizes, I've just done a cutting sheet for a dolls house (aren't granddads wonderful!) and the crv files for each sheet of material are only around 200kb each.

Woodbutcher-59
Vectric Craftsman
Model of CNC Machine: Homebuilt 3'x5'x6"

Re: axyz Toolpath

Post by Woodbutcher-59 »

Hi Roger

I'm gonna guess the PASS DEPTH for your bit is set really small....Is it cutting your design in small Z increments ??

If so, you need to edit the parameters for that bit...double click on the toolpath to open for editing....click on edit
next to the bit selection....set pass depth and then calculate the toolpath again.

Hope this helps

Jeff
Aspire 12
Mach 3

" I'm tryin to think but nothin happens " - Curly Howard

pacificbond

Post by pacificbond »

Thanks Jeff - I'll give it a try.
Will let you know.
regards