Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

This forum is for requests and queries about machine tool support for Vectric Products
Post Reply
anotherdamnaccount
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:40 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopSabre 4896

Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

Post by anotherdamnaccount »

Hello there,

I recently duplicated the post processor that I use and made a version that doesnt turn the spindle on, for use with a marker and dragknife.

When I open Vectric VCarve Pro 8.5 I am getting an error message - duplicate post processors found, change the name under "POST_NAME=" The two do have different names and I still am getting this error message.
VCarve Error.png
Here is the post I am using
OG Post.png
Here is the post I have altered. Notice the different name under "POST_NAME="
Duplicated & Altered Post.png
Any ideas?

User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1306
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
Location: Marquette, MI, USA

Re: Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

Post by IslaWW »

Along with the "Post Name", have you changed the actual xxxxx.pp file name?
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 943
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

Post by adze_cnc »

All three images show that the .pp name is different.

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10734
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

Post by Adrian »

Can't see anything obvious. Assuming you saved the file with the changed post name (more than a few times I've been baffled why a program wouldn't work but the code in the editor hadn't been saved...) all I can think of is it that it's some sort of caching issue. Have you tried rebooting to see if it works then?

anotherdamnaccount
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:40 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopSabre 4896

Re: Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

Post by anotherdamnaccount »

The two .pp files have different names.

I rebooted the computer and still the same.

I had the same problem a few years back and dont remember how I solved it. When I upgraded this computer from Win7 to 10 I forgot to store my posts. It was time to change the posts back to the way I like them and now this problem again.

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4049
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

Post by Rcnewcomb »

Can you Zip both .PP files and upload them to the forum?
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

anotherdamnaccount
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:40 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopSabre 4896

Re: Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

Post by anotherdamnaccount »

Sure thing, both posts attached.
Attachments
My_PostP.zip
(2.46 KiB) Downloaded 14 times

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10734
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

Post by Adrian »

Those files have different names but the POST_NAME is still the same.
Attachments
file2.png
file1.png

anotherdamnaccount
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:40 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopSabre 4896

Re: Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

Post by anotherdamnaccount »

Woa. Notice in my screenshots they are the same. I wonder if the problem is the editor I am using

anotherdamnaccount
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2015 7:40 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopSabre 4896

Re: Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

Post by anotherdamnaccount »

OK, so the editor I was using "Visual Studio Code" does not automatically save the file when you close it and when you re-open the file your changes show up even though they do not exist in the source file. So what VCarve saw was a duplicate of the same file. Opening the file and choosing file - save and the problem is solved.

I just tested and Visual Studio Code behaves the same way with .tap files... it must be how it behaves with all files.

User avatar
gkas
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 903
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 3:39 am
Model of CNC Machine: Aspire, Axiom AR8 Pro+, Axiom 4.2W Laser
Location: Southern California

Re: Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

Post by gkas »

That's why I use NotePad++ to edit ALL my text files, unless I'm using a compiler IDE. It doesn't mess up what you've got. It does indentation, auto EOL conversion, Macros, etc. It's a standard in the coding world. The Macros are great for easily making semi-automatic changes.

https://notepad-plus-plus.org/

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4049
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: GCnC/WinCNC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

Post by Rcnewcomb »

That's why I use NotePad++ to edit ALL my text files
I am another satisfied Notepad++ user.

For programming I use Sublime Text because it runs on both Windows and Mac.
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out
another good day in the shop

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10734
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Editing a post processor, duplicate post processor name.

Post by Adrian »

I use EditPlus for everything (the editor in my screenshots above) and it's great. Looks like the Visual Studio editor works in a similar way to the graphics package I use (Xara) in that it will open with the same files used previously along with changes even if they haven't been saved.

One clue that I missed in the original screenshots is that the second file has a marker (the dot) to show it's been updated but not saved.

Post Reply