Tape split doesn't work

This forum is for requests and queries about machine tool support for Vectric Products
Post Reply
jpatton
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD Plus

Tape split doesn't work

Post by jpatton »

I have been using tape split function through v-carve pro 8.0..However with the recent update, I haven't been able to use this function. When I try to save the tool path I get a writing error..Anyone know why or what I need to do to fix this. If I open 8.0 or lower it works fine.
Thanks in advance

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10594
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Tape split doesn't work

Post by Adrian »

What does the error say exactly?

jpatton
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD Plus

Re: Tape split doesn't work

Post by jpatton »

Sorry for the dealy- Work schedule..here is the message..Appreciate the help.
Attachments
Untitled.jpg

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10594
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Tape split doesn't work

Post by Adrian »

Is that the correct path? Seems a strange place to be saving toolpaths. Is that path the same in V8?

jpatton
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD Plus

Re: Tape split doesn't work

Post by jpatton »

It doesn't matter where I try to save it too, that the message I get. albeit the location will change to where I try to save it too..Whether I try to a hard disk, flash drive etc. Like I say, worked fine up to version 8.5

User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1303
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
Location: Marquette, MI, USA

Re: Tape split doesn't work

Post by IslaWW »

In the off chance that that file is read only, have you tried saving under a different name?
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com

jpatton
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Shark HD Plus

Re: Tape split doesn't work

Post by jpatton »

Yes sir..I've tried saving under different names, locations even went into the folder and made sure it had read and write settings in the properties...I just don't know why it works fine up until the upgrade. I'm at a loss :?

User avatar
mtylerfl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4802
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 3:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: -CarveWright CNC -ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha
Location: Brunswick, GA
Contact:

Re: Tape split doesn't work

Post by mtylerfl »

jpatton wrote:I have been using tape split function through v-carve pro 8.0..However with the recent update, I haven't been able to use this function. When I try to save the tool path I get a writing error..Anyone know why or what I need to do to fix this. If I open 8.0 or lower it works fine.
Thanks in advance
Have you contacted Vectric Support and sent them the file? They will be able to tell you what's up.
Michael Tyler

carvebuddy.com

facebook.com/carvebuddy

-CarveWright CNC
-ShopBot Buddy PRSAlpha CNC

Post Reply