Aspire 12 Trial has older Mach2/3 post-processor?

This forum is for requests and queries about machine tool support for Vectric Products
Post Reply
LessPaul
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:30 pm
Model of CNC Machine: FineLine Automation FLA-100

Aspire 12 Trial has older Mach2/3 post-processor?

Post by LessPaul »

I am considering upgrading from my dusty Aspire 8 to the new version 12. One thing confuses me a bit. The Vectric provided *.pp that I currently use has the following change log, with the last entry being from 2014. The files included with Aspire version 12 end with Mark's "28/08/2009 Added G91.1 to force use of incremental arcs". The remainder of changes are missing. I'm not by any means a post processor expert but I am very curious why the apparent regression.

Code: Select all

+ Mach2/3 - Vectric machine output configuration file   
+                                                
+================================================
+                                                
+ History                                        
+                                                
+ Who      When       What                         
+ ======== ========== ===========================
+ Tony     15/11/2005 Written
+ Tony     06/01/2006 Added ATC option    
+ Tony     14/05/2006 Fixed G20 inch in header    
+ Tony     24/07/2006 Added G2 & G3 Arc support + removed (( ))      
+ Tony     18/06/2007 Replaced the Tool comment       
+ Mark     14/08/2008 Added G1 to Feed moves,
+                     Removed 2nd G20 in header. 
+ Mark     28/08/2009 Added G91.1 to force use of incremental arcs
+                     Added Substitution, File & Toolpath Notes.
+ Mark     30/11/2009 Added TOOLPATHS_OUTPUT.
+ Brian    15/12/2009 Remove M05 from NEW_SEGMENT
+ Mark     18/01/2014 Added Dwell
+================================================

MiloScott
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 3:10 am
Model of CNC Machine: Legacy Maverick

Re: Aspire 12 has older Mach2/3 post-processor?

Post by MiloScott »

Which one were you looking at? I just pulled this one out of V12 and it ends at 2018
Attachments
Mach Header.jpg

LessPaul
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:30 pm
Model of CNC Machine: FineLine Automation FLA-100

Re: Aspire 12 has older Mach2/3 post-processor?

Post by LessPaul »

Thank you for taking a look at this.

The two referred to in my original post are located:
C:\ProgramData\Vectric\Aspire Trial Edition\V12.0\PostP\01-Misc\Mach2_3_ATC_inch.pp
and
C:\ProgramData\Vectric\Aspire Trial Edition\V12.0\PostP\01-Misc\Mach2_3_ATC_inch.pp

The only other Mach post processors in the "Aspire Trial Edition" directory structure are in:
C:\ProgramData\Vectric\Aspire Trial Edition\V12.0\PostP\01-Misc\Older_Mach
Those four *.pp files are indeed even older.

Screenshot of my v12 trial PostP directory:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1k-3KfV ... 5jSnfNfps7

Is it possible that you have the full purchased version of V12 and it is just a matter of the Trial not including everything?

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 14772
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Aspire 12 has older Mach2/3 post-processor?

Post by Adrian »

The Post Processors aren't stored in that location unless they are custom or older ones and haven't been for a couple of versions now, The software moved from text based for everything to a database format for the standard ones.

To see the standard up to date post processors go to the Machine menu and select Post Processor Management. You can the then right click on any post processor to view the Changelog or View the actual processor.

When you select a post processor it comes from that list. You have to explicitly add/create a post processor to the list from the folder.

MiloScott
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 3:10 am
Model of CNC Machine: Legacy Maverick

Re: Aspire 12 has older Mach2/3 post-processor?

Post by MiloScott »

LessPaul wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2024 4:29 am
Thank you for taking a look at this.

The two referred to in my original post are located:
C:\ProgramData\Vectric\Aspire Trial Edition\V12.0\PostP\01-Misc\Mach2_3_ATC_inch.pp
and

Is it possible that you have the full purchased version of V12 and it is just a matter of the Trial not including everything?
Didn't realize you were looking at the trial version. Here is what is loaded in the purchased V12 for the ATC version. I would have thought the trial would have been the same.
Attachments
Mach ATC Header.jpg

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 14772
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Aspire 12 has older Mach2/3 post-processor?

Post by Adrian »

MiloScott wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2024 2:32 pm
Didn't realize you were looking at the trial version. Here is what is loaded in the purchased V12 for the ATC version. I would have thought the trial would have been the same.
They are the same. See my post above yours. The post processors which are used aren't stored where LessPaul is looking.

LessPaul
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:30 pm
Model of CNC Machine: FineLine Automation FLA-100

Re: Aspire 12 has older Mach2/3 post-processor?

Post by LessPaul »

Adrian wrote:
Sun Apr 21, 2024 8:34 am
The Post Processors aren't stored in that location unless they are custom or older ones and haven't been for a couple of versions now, The software moved from text based for everything to a database format for the standard ones.
Thank you Adrian. You might have contributed to my wallet getting lighter.

Post Reply