Tapered Rope Carving Help

Topics related to wrapped rotary machining in Aspire or VCarve Pro
chubb
Model of CNC Machine: Shopbot

Tapered Rope Carving Help

Post by chubb »

Hi,

I'm new to aspire and having some problems trying to do a tapered rope carving on a lathe-turned table leg.

I searched the forum but the closest I got was this thread;

http://forum.vectric.com/viewtopic.php? ... ope#p66457

Which in the end really didn't have a clear solution on how to do a tapered rope carving with aspire on a controlled B-axis lathe.

So the main problem:

I have a 450mm length leg, which is 25mm diameter at one end and 25mm at the other. I have ball nose 3D carving bits and rope carving bits (so any solution using either would be fine).

I just can't seem to figure out how to get a tapered spiral in aspire. I've looked through all the tutorials, but still can't figure it out.

I would really greatly appreciate any advice on how to get this done or even better, maybe, a step by step on how to do it :lol:

Regards,

Mark

mezalick
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra

Re: Tapered Rope Carving Help

Post by mezalick »

Using the wrapping feature in Aspire is simply understanding the concept that when a flat item with different thickness’s is wrapped around a center axis you will see a column shape with undulations.
Now, the trick is to get those undulations to match what you want to create.
If you create a wrapped project with a component that mimics the “ undulations “ of the base shape, you can then V-Carve or profile cut the spiral ridges.
You would still need to have a roughing and finishing toolpath before you use the profile toolpath.
This is just one simple way to make this.
I hope it helps.

Michael
Attachments
flat component.JPG
wrapped component.JPG
ridges.JPG
Michael Mezalick
https://www.youtube.com/user/mezalick
mm@mezalick.com

dealguy11
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Anderson Selexx 510

Re: Tapered Rope Carving Help