turn and spin

This forum is for general discussion about Aspire
Post Reply
dan nelson
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 135
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 4:44 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster stinger III x3 with recoil lath
Location: palmyra wi
Contact:

turn and spin

Post by dan nelson »

Hello all, I am thinking about the upgrade to V9 . With the new turn and spin are there any more toolpath options that can be used other than than 3D? For example can we now spin our A axis like a lathe and have the router plunge up and down ? Thanks Dan and Bridget Nelson

User avatar
mezalick
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2577
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:07 am
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: turn and spin

Post by mezalick »

No Dan, sorry.
The Turn and Spin is for creating components (3-D ) .....not making your CNC turn like a lathe...

Michael
Michael Mezalick
https://carveddetails.com
mm@mezalick.com

User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1298
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
Location: Marquette, MI, USA

Re: turn and spin

Post by IslaWW »

Dan...
A CNC rotary axis cannot "spin like a lathe", and here's why:

Stepper motors are made to move in steps, not rotate continuously. Even if you can get them to spin with a pulse generator, they have so little torque, they are useless. A motor, or a high end servo with encoder (like big$ cnc lathes have) would be required to turn the 4th axis to enable spinning.

Lets assume you could get the rotary to spin by adding a 3 phase motor with VFD to control RPM. You now have an X, Y and Z mechanical system that is designed to cut in the 1-400 ipm range, depending on model. Normal turning is done in the 1500-2500 rpm range, yielding an average of 6000 to 20,000 inches per minute at the surface with a 1 to 4" blank. Much more than the gantry, X and Z components are built to withstand.

That said, many, even most think that the rotary needs to spin freely to accomplish a turning type profile. Look over the one in this link:

This is a rotary coordinates type file, just like all rotary files. It was done in VCarve Pro with a 2D profile and a little bit of post processor trickery. Even tho there are few, if any other examples of this happening, at least verified on video, this was done to prove that it can be done using the tools we all have.
Gary Campbell
CNC Technology & Training
The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com

mohamed
Vectric Staff
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:59 am
Model of CNC Machine: Craft CNC DS1

Re: turn and spin

Post by mohamed »

Is this something like you're for on the software side?

https://docs.vectric.com/docs/V9.0/Aspi ... Setup.html

Mohamed
++++++
Mohamed
-----------

PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Contact:

Re: turn and spin

Post by PaulRowntree »

Gary is quite right, steppers run out of torque at high speed.

That said, I made a continuous rotation fourth axis that could turn at 500 rpm, then return control to the Mach3 while knowing exactly what angle the stock was at. The vids are way too long, but here is the build (3 parts)


I used the FlutePlus gadget to make the 'lathe' toolpaths. (2 parts)


PM me if you would like more info.
Cheers!
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com

Post Reply