Holes in a perfect surface

Discussions and examples relating to the Design & Carve series for Aspire

Moderator: Todd Bailey

JensJensen
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:13 am
Model of CNC Machine: DIY cnc, mach3
Location: 4550 Asnæs, Denmark

Holes in a perfect surface

Post by JensJensen »

Hi everybody
This is my first post in this forum . I sits in Denmark and trying to make something on my diy - cnc with Aspire to help. I have a problem with my last model. There are holes in a perfect surface , is there some who know why?

Regardes

Jens
IMG_0027.JPG
IMG_0026.JPG

JensJensen
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:13 am
Model of CNC Machine: DIY cnc, mach3
Location: 4550 Asnæs, Denmark

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by JensJensen »

I have the same problem with the Michelin man , I've tried to do.
michelin man.gif

dldecker
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 7:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger 1
Location: Jacksonville. Florida

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by dldecker »

looks like the bit you used was to big to get into the crevice so it went so far then quit leaving a hole the size of the bit.
Try running a simulation with a smaller bit and see if they disappear.
Dana Decker
Aspire 8 something
CaMaster Stinger I

JensJensen
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:13 am
Model of CNC Machine: DIY cnc, mach3
Location: 4550 Asnæs, Denmark

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by JensJensen »

The first one I showed, there are holes down to the " sun " located in the lower layer, and it was not there when I ran a simulation?
Have I done something wrong when I made the template? , it is made of three parts, with the " crown " on top of " the sun ".

dldecker
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 7:01 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger 1
Location: Jacksonville. Florida

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by dldecker »

Sorry your pictures are so small I can't tell much about it.
Dana Decker
Aspire 8 something
CaMaster Stinger I

User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by Ms Wolffie »

Jens Jensen, how Danish is that?
Pity your pictures are so small and also turn sideways, it is impossible to see them clearly.
From another Dane but in Australia.
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by Ms Wolffie »

I have been trying to find that insignia to get a better picture but cannot find it anywhere.
Is it a recognised insignia, if so where in the Danish Navy does it belong?
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

JensJensen
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:13 am
Model of CNC Machine: DIY cnc, mach3
Location: 4550 Asnæs, Denmark

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by JensJensen »

Jens Jensen, Yes it can be more Danish , it's the Royal Danish Guard emblem , with their motto : " Pro Rege A GREGE " - For King and the People
Udklip.JPG
.

I've tried to capture a new image , the slightly larger resolution hope it might help .
2-2015-10-06 22.25.06.jpg

User avatar
Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 10263
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:19 pm
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by Adrian »

Did those holes happen on the roughing or finishing pass?

LittleGreyMan
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis small size machine
Location: France

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by LittleGreyMan »

Hi Jens,

If you don't mind, post the file.

I do not know Mach3, does it include a 3D Gcode visualizer? If yes, do you see these plunges? If you don't see them, it's a machine-Mach3 issue. If they are here and if the simulation is correct, it means it is a postpro- Mach3 issue.

If Mach3 does not include a visualizer, download one or try to find in the Gcode if you see these plunges.

HTH
Best regards

Didier

W7 - Aspire 8.517

JensJensen
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:13 am
Model of CNC Machine: DIY cnc, mach3
Location: 4550 Asnæs, Denmark

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by JensJensen »

On the finishing pass, I did not use Rough, with a 2.mm bn , and as seen in the preview is a smooth surface
Kgl.garde 150X150X10 ø2bn.JPG
, it must be said that it is the first attempt to produce a file, but I'm not sure if it 's done right , among other things , I'm not sure what " baking " does.

LittleGreyMan
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:10 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 3 axis small size machine
Location: France

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by LittleGreyMan »

OK, so how does it look in a Gcode visualizer?

What happens when you machine it? Do you let the machine run and these borings do happen in the middle of the toolpath, with the machine going on on the right path after that or do you stop and go to fix things?

You can post the gcode if you don't want to post the original file.

What is the size of this model? Must be very small if you directly use a 2mm ball nose.
Best regards

Didier

W7 - Aspire 8.517

JensJensen
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2015 8:13 am
Model of CNC Machine: DIY cnc, mach3
Location: 4550 Asnæs, Denmark

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by JensJensen »

Hi
I produce over 10 from the files that came with Aspire , and there have not been any problems .
No, I only have the simulator as came with Aspire.

Sorry, the file is too large to attach.

Regards Jens
LittleGreyMan wrote:Hi Jens,

If you don't mind, post the file.

I do not know Mach3, does it include a 3D Gcode visualizer? If yes, do you see these plunges? If you don't see them, it's a machine-Mach3 issue. If they are here and if the simulation is correct, it means it is a postpro- Mach3 issue.

If Mach3 does not include a visualizer, download one or try to find in the Gcode if you see these plunges.

HTH

User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by Ms Wolffie »

JensJensen wrote:Jens Jensen, Yes it can be more Danish , it's the Royal Danish Guard emblem , with their motto : " Pro Rege A GREGE " - For King and the People
Udklip.JPG
.

I've tried to capture a new image , the slightly larger resolution hope it might help .
2-2015-10-06 22.25.06.jpg
Of course, why didn't I recognise that?
My nephew was a Garder musician.
I actually think it is "PRO REGE ET GREGE"
I would like to play a bit with that picture.
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

Re: Holes in a perfect surface

Post by Ms Wolffie »

I cannot believe how difficult it is to find these logos.
The only one I found was as small as your first one.
So you are/were in 3rd batallion?
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

Post Reply