need help in setting mach 3 program in closed loop

Post Reply
bbakerman2005
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:11 pm

need help in setting mach 3 program in closed loop

Post by bbakerman2005 »

we are running a project , making over 200 plaques , we made a jig that would let us keep running the project , it will cut one plaque while we set another in the jig, so we are able to keep the machine running all the time , but we have to keep starting the program over , does anyone know how to keep the program in a closed loop so it will start over and over again until we stop it ?

Greolt
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1000
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:44 pm
Model of CNC Machine: UCCNC Router, Plasma, Laser
Location: Australia 3781

Re: need help in setting mach 3 program in closed loop

Post by Greolt »

Are you using gcode?

M47 at the end of the code will "Repeat program from first line"

You can either set out the two instances of the job on one "material setup" in Vcarve Pro.

Make each toolpath separately and combine them when Post Processing so that they happen sequentially.

Or make use of offsets. G54, G55 etc. These can be called in the code.

This would involve a little bit of hand editing the code but nothing too complex.

Then once done, you are off and racing through the 200 items.

Greg

bbakerman2005
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:11 pm

Re: need help in setting mach 3 program in closed loop

Post by bbakerman2005 »

thanks we will do that , we are 1/4 done and this will help , thanks . LB

User avatar
miopicman
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 10:21 am
Model of CNC Machine: Home built gantry type
Location: Northeast UK

Re: need help in setting mach 3 program in closed loop

Post by miopicman »

bbakerman2005 wrote:we are running a project , making over 200 plaques , we made a jig that would let us keep running the project , it will cut one plaque while we set another in the jig, so we are able to keep the machine running all the time , but we have to keep starting the program over , does anyone know how to keep the program in a closed loop so it will start over and over again until we stop it ?
You could also use a subroutine call code M98 with 200 iterations and then you would not need to count the number of plaques completed.

M98 P[subr No.] L[#iterations] (call the subr #iterations times)
.
.
.
End of main program

;subrouting calls

O[subr No.]
.
subr code
.
M99 (end of subr)

e.g.

M98 P1234 L100 (100 if you are putting 2 on a jig and require 200 parts)
.
.
.
M30 (end of main code)

O1234
.
subr code
.
M99

Post Reply