Mach 3- motor tuning-steps per

Post Reply
Sawman101
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: area51

Mach 3- motor tuning-steps per

Post by Sawman101 »

howdy folks, i have a 2 part question that I believe should be an easy one for those pros out there.
my small cnc router uses mach 3 with ESS. i have 2 nema 23 stepper motors moving the x-axis..they are slaved x-axis,a-axis.
i recently noticed while going through my different settings and screens in Config/motor tuning that the 'steps per' were slightly different
on the x-axis the settings are as follows: steps per= 1018.487835 velocity= 300 acceleration= 15 G's= 0.0388528 step pulse= 2 Dir pulse= 2
on the a-xis(slaved) the settings for 'steps per' = 1089.487835 all other parameters are identical.

first question is obvious, should the 'steps per' values be identical?
second question, if so-how do i know which one is correct?
thank you in advance, db

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1543
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Mach 3- motor tuning-steps per

Post by ger21 »

1) Yes, they should be identical.
I suspect that Mach3 may ignore the slave setting, but I'm not sure. If it doesn't the two sides will move different distances.

2) Set them both the same, and measure to see if the machine travels the correct distance. Adjust as needed.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3402
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Re: Mach 3- motor tuning-steps per

Post by TReischl »

There is a section in the Mach manual that discusses how to calculate the correct number of steps. It depends on how you have the microsteps and any gear/belt ratios. It is a good place to start, in my case it was dead on accurate. Funny how that works.

The reason I suggest starting there is that if your system has any backlash measuring can lead you astray unless you make sure you always approach from the same direction when measuring.
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones

garylmast
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1046
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Mach 3- motor tuning-steps per

Post by garylmast »

In Mach3, under Settings, at the left bottom you can see the Axis Calibration. Very simple and actuate way to set the correct number of steps per Axis.

Gary
Attachments
Capture.JPG

Sawman101
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: area51

Re: Mach 3- motor tuning-steps per

Post by Sawman101 »

thank you fellas, i will take the advice and info wisely. thanks again,db

Post Reply