y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Sawman101
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: area51

y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by Sawman101 »

when jogging the machine around both motors turn as normal. when homing the machine only one motor is turning causing a misalignment. any ideas? thank you

User avatar
IslaWW
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1307
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:42 pm
Model of CNC Machine: The Ultimate Woodworking Machine
Location: Marquette, MI, USA

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by IslaWW »

You need to post a lot more information about the machine and its controller if you want a quality answer
Gary Campbell
GCnC Control
ATC & Servo Controller Controller Upgrades
GCnC411 (at) gmail.com

Sawman101
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: area51

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by Sawman101 »

ok, i am very new to this and have 2 homemade cnc routers. i had someone here today checking computer settings and plug ins because of intermittent job interruptions, dont think we changed anything but must have.
we are using mach 3 with ess smoothstepper, gecko 203v drives, nema 34 stepper motors. the machine jogs as normal. because it is a large machine i usually jog it to within an inch of the home position and then home it. when it goes to home the y axis only one motor is turning causing a bad noise and misalignment of the gantry. also, when i shut down mach 3 it has always asked me if i want to end session-yes. it would then ask if i want to fixture save-yes. well, it is not asking about the fixture save now either. any help is very appreciated as i have no support from the man that built the machines. thank you, db

User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3115
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254 Chinese Made
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Contact:

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by Leo »

Mach 3 only asks for a fixture save IF you created a new fixture location. If you did not - then there is no fixture save question.

I kinda sounds like something is binding your axis motion. Does the bad noise sound like gears grinding?
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1576
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by ger21 »

Leo wrote:Mach 3 only asks for a fixture save IF you created a new fixture location. If you did not - then there is no fixture save question.
Unless you have "Optional Offset Save" selected.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

Sawman101
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: area51

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by Sawman101 »

thanks leo, i think you are correct. the fixture save issue is because i never completed the 'homing' task due to the y-axis issue. that makes sense to me.
we did change the motion control profile today before having this issue. i am new to this so be patient. i have two motors driving the y axis. each has its own driver, one is marked y the is marked a. do i need to uncheck the a axis in 'angular properties' setting in general configuration? also, both y axis motors work fine when jogging but only one moves when 'homing'. thank you for any assistance here. db

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1576
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by ger21 »

In General Config, do you have Home Slave with Master checked?

I've never used an ESS, but I think there are home settings in the plugin configuration?
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

Sawman101
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: area51

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by Sawman101 »

yes, 'home slave with master' is checked.

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1576
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by ger21 »

Do you have separate home switches for the two sides?

What does your Ref All home script look like?
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

Sawman101
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: area51

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by Sawman101 »

thank you Ger, there is only 1 limit switch, it is on the y-axis motor side, the slave(a-axis) motor is the one that does not turn when homing.
where would i be able to view/copy the Ref All home script? i am very new to this but learning quickly. thanks,db

User avatar
Ken Rychlik
Vectric Craftsman
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:24 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 5x10 Ezrouter Scorpion
Location: Soutwest of Houston (Cabinetry)

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by Ken Rychlik »

If you are just using one homing switch, you could hardwire pair them instead of software pairing.

If it was working before, and you have a saved copy of your Mach3 folder, Just reload it with your backup copy. I always keep a running backup ready, in case there is a software glitch.
Custom CNC Cutting with 5x10 Scorpion ATC
Local Machine Repairs and Programming

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1576
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by ger21 »

Operator > Edit button script> Then click the Ref All button.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

Sawman101
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: area51

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by Sawman101 »

Well, as a rookie I should expect these things. The problem was the smooth stepper plug in update...i used a very old one. i was originally running on a version from 2012, only to update it with a version from 2013. that is when the issue started. i went ahead and updated the plug in with the newest version(2019) and everything is working as it should. thanks to all for your help...definitely in a learning curve! DB

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1576
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by ger21 »

Yeah, it seems like it took Warp9 5 years or so to get slaved homing working.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

Sawman101
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:50 pm
Model of CNC Machine: area51

Re: y axis motor not turning when homing machine

Post by Sawman101 »

i was not having any issues with the old old version, just figured maybe the newer version had a few of the glitches solved.
quick question....in 'motor tuning', when an axis is slaved with another motor-should the steps per and other parameters be identical? thanks,db

Post Reply