Mach 3 question

Post Reply
User avatar
T.R.MacMunn
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:30 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster MC4836
Location: Mountain Grove, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Mach 3 question

Post by T.R.MacMunn »

Someone told me there are some Mach3 gurus on here.
Can I switch from Exact Stop to Constant Velocity in the middle of a cut?
I'm routing a bitmap ( excruciatingly slow) but there's raised lettering in the middle & I know "constant velocity " is going to round off corner or two.
I can sandblast a square foot every minute but I'm around 4 hours per sq.' routing it.
I don't care to just do a clean-up profile because I want to fool people into thinking it's cedar.

Thanks

Greolt
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 916
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:44 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 900 x 750 2hp UCCNC Router & others
Location: Australia

Re: Mach 3 question

Post by Greolt »

Program G61 to put the machining system into exact stop mode, or G64 for constant velocity mode.

Greolt

User avatar
T.R.MacMunn
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:30 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster MC4836
Location: Mountain Grove, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Mach 3 question

Post by T.R.MacMunn »

Thanks Greolt.
There are some options on Constant Velocity that I never noticed before. I made some adjustments there & ( insert Snoopy dance here) I'm a very happy camper.
7hrs & 16min down to 31 minutes. Yabbadabbadoo!

jimwill2
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 593
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 1:48 am
Model of CNC Machine: CaMaster Stinger w/recoil, FTC
Location: Parkville, Missouri

Re: Mach 3 question

Post by jimwill2 »

Rodger, that's what we want... Happy Campers!!! Had a great time in Columbia at McGrew's!
Jim Williams

User avatar
fretsman68
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1070
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:16 pm
Location: Pa. USA

Re: Mach 3 question

Post by fretsman68 »

T.R.MacMunn wrote:Thanks Greolt.
There are some options on Constant Velocity that I never noticed before. I made some adjustments there & ( insert Snoopy dance here) I'm a very happy camper.
7hrs & 16min down to 31 minutes. Yabbadabbadoo!
Can you please share what you did so that we may learn as well?

That's quite a substantial difference so I'd love to see the job and how and what you adjusted to get that.

Thanks!
Dave
--------------
Dave

User avatar
T.R.MacMunn
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:30 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster MC4836
Location: Mountain Grove, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Mach 3 question

Post by T.R.MacMunn »

In Mach 3, open Config, then the General Config box. Check "constant velocity" . In the lower right, there's a box CV Control.

I set CV Distance Tolerance at 100 units ...... I have no idea what a unit is.
I set Stop CV on angles over.... to 35.

Worked spiffy, although the bit caught corners on the raised lettering, but only on square corners. I think this will just require fine tuning.
When I get a chance, I'm going to make a new file, much smaller, to try different options on.

BTW, the smaller stepover added an hour to my time on the 2nd sample, but it's still one fifth the time of doing it in exact stop.

User avatar
fretsman68
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1070
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:16 pm
Location: Pa. USA

Re: Mach 3 question

Post by fretsman68 »

Interesting, so basically this is a trial and error type of thing, and more to the point, it's very machine and type of work specific, correct?

In other words, depending on the job, you would tweak these settings to get the optimal result? It would not just remain at a certain setting for all jobs/machines?

Thanks again-
Dave
--------------
Dave

User avatar
T.R.MacMunn
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:30 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster MC4836
Location: Mountain Grove, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Mach 3 question

Post by T.R.MacMunn »

Dave, I'm hoping to find a "sweet spot", although just knowing what each adjustment will do is a good thing.
It's like stepover ....... you don't always want the same.

User avatar
fretsman68
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1070
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:16 pm
Location: Pa. USA

Re: Mach 3 question

Post by fretsman68 »

Understood, and thanks for your time- :D

Dave
--------------
Dave

kak
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 9:17 am
Model of CNC Machine: DIY CNC

Re: Mach 3 question

Post by kak »


Post Reply