Xilog3 questions

Post Reply
dustboy
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Masterwood Speedy 207
Location: SF Bay Area

Xilog3 questions

Post by dustboy »

I have a new-to-me Morbidelli Author 504.

I'm testing the included post processors, (Morbidelli 336 NBR Arcs (inch)) I can get Xilog to open the .PGM file (after compiling the .XXL with WinXiso) but I'm having issues with the tool numbering. "xISO: Tool numbering not permitted."

In Xilog, E6 is the tool in position #6 in the tool changer. VCarve won't let me number a tool with a letter. If I just number it Tool 6 it will post with T106, then I get "ChkPgm line 9: No setup compatible with process requested (T=106).

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4636
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Xilog3 questions

Post by adze_cnc »

Is every tool number prefixed by the same letter "E"?

dustboy
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Masterwood Speedy 207
Location: SF Bay Area

Re: Xilog3 questions

Post by dustboy »

'E' is the prefix for tool changer tools (E1-E96), then there are "fixed" tools in the boring head with no prefix (1-96).

User avatar
adze_cnc
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4636
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 10:08 pm
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Re: Xilog3 questions

Post by adze_cnc »

Would the boring head tools be used in tooplaths in the Vectric software?

Perhaps this user-written gadget (modified appropriately for your situation) might be of use? Tool Renumber

dustboy
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:55 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Masterwood Speedy 207
Location: SF Bay Area

Re: Xilog3 questions

Post by dustboy »

I'd be happy if I could run Vectric programs with the ATC spindle, the boring head tools are not crucial to me.

I tried the "Morbidelli Xilog Plus Arcs (mm)" post and I get a tool collision error on a simple pocketing operation. The gcode is calling out T6 which probably means boring tool 6, maybe the control is seeing X/Y motion while a drill is below the material surface?

Also the header is showing "DY=0.00" while the other X and Z dimensions are correct. "D" indicates the material dimension.

User avatar
Rcnewcomb
Vectric Archimage
Posts: 6074
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 5:54 am
Model of CNC Machine: 24x36 GCnC/WinCNC with ATC
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Xilog3 questions

Post by Rcnewcomb »

What does the TOOLCHAGE section of your post processor look like? Is it something like this?

Code: Select all

+---------------------------------------------------
+  Commands output at toolchange
+---------------------------------------------------

begin TOOLCHANGE

"[N] M5"
"[N] G53 Z0"
"[N]  "
"[N] [91][TOOLNAME][93]"
"[N] T[T] [91] GET TOOL NUMBER [T] [93]"
"[N]  "
"[N] [S] [91] SET SPINDLE SPEED RPM [93]"
"[N] M3 [91]SPINDLE ON[93]"
"[N]  "
"[N] G53 Z0"
"[N] "
"[N]  F[FC] XY [91]SET FEEDRATE FOR X AND Y[93]"
"[N]  F[FP] Z [91]SET FEEDRATE FOR Z[93]"
"[N]  "
"[N] G00 [XH] [YH]"
"[N] G00 [ZH]"
- Randall Newcomb
10 fingers in, 10 fingers out, another good day in the shop

Post Reply