Z Height Limit

GarySeibs
Vectric Apprentice

Z Height Limit

Post by GarySeibs »

Not sure if this is hardware or software and if anyone has any insight I would appreciate it.

I've got a Techno-Isel 4896 in my high school shop that I've been using since 2005. I know that it's getting a bit long in the tooth but the machine is still great (that and I don't have $30K+ to replace it). It's a stand alone station in my school shop and is run by a PC that I only use to run the machine; all design and toolpaths are done on other computers and we migrate toolpaths to the machine with thumb drives. In short, I got my school to be a pretty early adopter and I've been using this one since it was new so the process is good and works for us.

In September my PC gave it up and I was able to re-purpose another one to run the TI Router (which I've done before) but since then it's been raising to the Z limit and stopping when it finished the part. On my machine this stops everything and you have several clicks to restore controls. It's been driving me up a wall and I can't find the setting to correct it.

My software is set up as usual: we use inches, Rapid Z Gaps set at .2, home position gap set to a Z of .5. I've been using these settings for a number of years without an issue. I've poured through the interface settings as well and I'm stumped.

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated.

Gary

SteveNelson46
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Stinger 1

Re: Z Height Limit

Post by SteveNelson46 »

If I understand the problem correctly, I would start with the post processor. Check to see what commands are used at the end of the toolpath.
Steve

adze_cnc
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Post by adze_cnc »

It sounds like at some point the post processor was modified to prevent something like that and now with the new install on the new computer it is back.