Can't seem to make it through a "deep" cut.

tbeaulieu
Model of CNC Machine: Bobs Evolution 4

Can't seem to make it through a "deep" cut.

Post by tbeaulieu »

I'm new to CNC. I have a BobsEvo 4 and w/o facebook for their forum, this is the only forum that I know of. Aspire latest. Using gSender.

So, I have a fairly straightforward charcuterie board that I designed and have cut out several so far with 3/4" edge grain glue-ups, with excellent results. I decided to make some chunkier ones out of some good quality white oak, again edge grain, but this time it's 1 1/16" thick.

I'm having a really hard time trying to get through the deeper cuts. It's getting almost entirely through each time, only to go off the rails in one of the last few passes. I've slowed this thing down quite a bit, over the thinner boards and it looks and sounds great until it goes haywire.

I've read a recent similar thread here and will move my laptop and controller to use the same outlet. The thread also recommended a USB isolator, but I've read conflicting reviews about not being able to reach the device with the isolator present?

Good quality 1/4" down-cut extended bit.
The step over is 30%.
The speed is 60 inches.

I've managed to downsize the board three times, while increasing the hand hold hole, but I'm nearly out of room for another pass!

I will say that I get a lot of Alarm 1 codes in general that abort my cuts, complaining about a hard limit hit, which is false. I've been forced to disable hard limits to get through jobs reliably. Tried finding solutions to that, but so far, nothing straight-forward.

Does anyone have any insight into "deep" cuts? Or is that just a coincidence? Does anything else come to mind when looking at the photo? You can see each attempt and what happened at nearly the end. There are at least five explosions in this pictures and virtually all are on a corner.

I've also attached the aspire file, slimmed down.
Attachments
PXL_20221201_203830739.jpg