Upcut-/Downcut- or Compression-Bit for Clean Cutting Edges?

halodri
Vectric Apprentice
Model of CNC Machine: BZT PFK 1607 PX

Upcut-/Downcut- or Compression-Bit for Clean Cutting Edges?

Post by halodri »

I'm a member of a "makerspace" in Vienna/Austria with two CNC machines and I'm fairly new to CNC machining.

I want to cut and machine ( 27mm glued laminate timber)several pieces for furniture and I'm concerned with getting nice clean edges on the top and bottom.

I've read and also my experience so far is that upcut bits tend to rip out wood on the top surface (particularly plywood) but not on the bottom and with downcut bits it's the other way around.

I know there is a combination of up and down cut bits called the compression bit.
Now I'm wondering, what's the best method/practice to achieve clean cutting edges on top and bottom. Is it better/safer to use a downcut bit for the top surface first and switch "in the middle" to an upcut bit, or does a compression bit achieve equally good results?
Capture.JPG
Hello,

Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Upcut-/Downcut- or Compression-Bit for Clean Cutting Edges?

Post by Adrian »

Compression bit would do what you want but you need to use the lead-in feature of the profile toolpath to make sure the bit is at the correct depth before doing the actual cut otherwise the upcut portion on the bottom of the bit will tear the material at the start of the cut.

Otherwise you can get excellent results using two separate bits as you suggest it just takes longer.

halodri
Vectric Apprentice

Post by halodri »

Hello Adrian,

Thanks for your answer. I've now watched a few videos on how compression bits work. My understanding is that the path depth of the first path must exceed the length of the upcut portion of the bit. otherwise only the upcut portion is acting and thus rips out material on the surface.

I ordered this compression bit from Amazon: