working with brass

Greg47
Model of CNC Machine: New wave shark

working with brass

Post by Greg47 »

I am relatively new to the CNC world and never posted before. I have made hundreds of things all in 2D, all in wood. I have a design in mind that will use some brass inlay ed in wood. My problem or question is where can I go to get a better idea on tools, feeds and speeds for brass. i could destroy some bits to figure it out but has anyone else tried this?

TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 48X36X7 RP 2022 UCCNC Screenset

Re: working with brass

Post by TReischl »

Well, I do not have it all figured out but do have a few suggestions.

Brass is grabby, will try to pull the tool into it or pull the work.

Doing any metal work on a router is testy. The spindle speeds are typically way too high. Our routers are typically not as rigid as a machine tool. When doing brass and aluminum I have used very slow feed rates, in the neighborhood of 20-25 IPM, sometimes slower for small cutters below .125 dia. Clearing the chips helps a lot. A lot of heat can be generated so if you can have an air line blowing a bit of air it really helps out.

Generally for all metal work I use HSS bits on the router. Couple of reasons, they can be had cheaply these days so when one breaks it is not a big deal, but more importantly they are much sharper.

When doing profile work I use the ramp/spiral option rather than plunging to depth of cut. Usually take about .010 - .015 per pass. Like I said, slowwww.

Another tip is to remove metal using conventional means whenever possible. If you can rough drill a hole, do it. If you have a cut out and have a scroll saw, remove most of the material that way, much faster. If you can rough saw the profile on a bandsaw and still fixture the part, do it that way.