Mach3 - Win10 - USB

User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3071
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254 Chinese Made
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Contact:

Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by Leo »

Does anybody have a setup using Mac3 - Windosw10 and a USB between the computer and the machine?

How is it working?
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com

cnc4me
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:03 pm
Model of CNC Machine: XYZ Gantry, PMDX motion, Mach3
Location: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by cnc4me »

Leo,
I have Mach 3 with win10 (just updated from Vista to win10 about a month ago) but I use a SmoothStepper(ethernet) and it seems to be fine. Is your question a windows 10 or more specifically USB connectivity?

User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3071
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254 Chinese Made
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Contact:

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by Leo »

Both actually,

Mach3 seems to need a parallel port.

It also seems that win10 does not support a parallel port.

Also, my new machine is configured with a USB port.

I am a bit shy on knowledge of this stuff.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1569
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by ger21 »

What kind of machine is this?

There are several USB and ethernet motion controllers that work with Mach3 (using a plugin) to get around the parallel port issue. If your machine has a Mach3 plugin, it should work in Windows 10.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

cnc4me
Vectric Apprentice
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:03 pm
Model of CNC Machine: XYZ Gantry, PMDX motion, Mach3
Location: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by cnc4me »

ger21 is right on. The first step is acquiring the correct plugin for your setup. Check the Mach support page at: http://www.machsupport.com/software/plugins/

User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3071
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254 Chinese Made
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Contact:

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by Leo »

It is a XHC Mach3 - 4 axis motion controller.

I contacted Alex at Xhc about using Mach4 and he said no.

That is not a problem to me.

I am just going to revert my computer back to win 7 and use mach3.

The XHC has a plugin for mach3 to communicate with the USB

That will work for me.

If that is problematic, I will upgrade to a newer BOB and mach4 - but that will be in the future some time.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com

ger21
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1569
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:59 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Custom DIY
Location: Shelby Township, MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by ger21 »

You don't need to revert back to Windows 7. Mach3 will run fine on Windows 10.
Gerry - http://www.thecncwoodworker.com

User avatar
TReischl
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3634
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:04 pm
Model of CNC Machine: 8020 Build 48X36X10 RP 2010 Screenset
Location: Leland NC

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by TReischl »

Hello Leo,

I am running Win 10, usb and smoothstepper, no problems.
"If you see a good fight, get in it." Dr. Vernon Jones

User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3071
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254 Chinese Made
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Contact:

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by Leo »

I sent the computer back to win 7. After the machine comes in I will setup on win7 but may try resetting up on win 10 after everything is running again.

The XHC manufacture includes a USB driver for mach3.

I am still waiting for the machine.

Right now it is about 300 miles off the Pacific coast of northern Mexico, headed for the Panama.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4951
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48,Denford Triac Modified
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by martin54 »

News today said there had been some really bad storms in that area & many merchant ships reported shipping containers being lost over the side :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3071
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254 Chinese Made
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Contact:

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by Leo »

Mine is last off - so it is safe on the bottom of the stack.
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4951
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48,Denford Triac Modified
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by martin54 »

Crate "0" was it Leo :lol: :lol:

Have you got a delivery date for it or won't you know that until it has cleared customs?


Don't forget to post pictures once it's installed & up & running.

garylmast
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm
Location: Sandy, Utah

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by garylmast »

News today said there had been some really bad storms in that area & many merchant ships reported shipping containers being lost over the side :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Now you got me worried. I just bought a 150-Watt laser engraver/cutter, that is due at the Long Beach, California harbor this coming Wednesday. I hope they don't tell me to buy some scuba gear so I can get my new toy. :shock:

User avatar
martin54
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 4951
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:12 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Gerber System 48,Denford Triac Modified
Location: Crossgates, Scotland

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by martin54 »

Yep you are going to need the scuba gear, a big magnet, a winch & a sky hook :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

User avatar
Leo
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 3071
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:02 am
Model of CNC Machine: 1300 x 1300 x 254 Chinese Made
Location: East Freetown, Ma.
Contact:

Re: Mach3 - Win10 - USB

Post by Leo »

As of about 1 hour ago it was about 200 miles off the southern tip of the Baja Peninsula - heading 132 degrees @ about 18 knots, bound for the Panama.

I should see it in Boston ABOUT 11/27/15
Imagine the Possibilities of a Creative mind

www.leosworkshop.com

Post Reply