Blown powersupply

Post Reply
User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

Blown powersupply

Post by Ms Wolffie »

Wish I could get my machine up and running again.
I blew up a powersupply, got a new one but don't know how to check whether I blew the motors as well.
Bit worried about blowing up another power supply.
Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

Timvmax
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 3:41 pm
Location: UK

Re: New Gadget available : FlutePlus

Post by Timvmax »

I blew up a powersupply, got a new one but don't know how to check whether I blew the motors as well.
Bit worried about blowing up another power supply.
Can we help? lots of knowledge on here

User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

Re: New Gadget available : FlutePlus

Post by Ms Wolffie »

Sure wish you could.
I have a good powersupply with a bad controller board
I have another box with a bad power supply and a good controller board.
They are the same brand but different models.
Parts do not fit in the same box.
The board blew up when the supply wires burnt
MeltedWires.jpg
Burnt wires.jpg
I noticed the moulded cable got very hot but it was not until I blew the powerbox up and stripped the moulded plug that I
found out how bad the problem was.
Now I only have one chance to find out whether I blew the stepper motors as well and I do not know how.
I have rewired the connection with stronger wires.
I know how to pair the wires.
Can I test the motors with a battery?
Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

User avatar
mezalick
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2517
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 9:07 am
Model of CNC Machine: Camaster Cobra
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Contact:

Re: New Gadget available : FlutePlus

Post by mezalick »

I think we need to send an emergency response team..who’s with me ??? :D
Michael Mezalick
https://carveddetails.com
mm@mezalick.com

User avatar
rscrawford
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:49 pm
Model of CNC Machine: CAMaster Cobra 408 ATC, ShopSabre IS408
Location: Wetaskiwin, Alberta
Contact:

Re: New Gadget available : FlutePlus

Post by rscrawford »

I'm up for a trip to Australia if you need back-up Michael!
Russell Crawford
http://www.cherryleaf-rustle.com

PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Contact:

Re: New Gadget available : FlutePlus

Post by PaulRowntree »

I'm in for a road trip ...
When I think of a blown motor, it could either make a coil go open circuit or short-circuit. Open should be apparent with an ohm-meter. If shorted out inside to another coil that should be seen with the ohm-meter too.

Shorted out inside to itself should be seen as too low a resistance. Also, the mechanical resistance to manually turning the shaft should go up a lot when you short out a coil at the connector, almost like a brake. If there is no difference felt, and it is always very stiff, it could be shorted out inside.

If the photos show the connectors going to the motors, then it looks like they may have shorted out where they go out of the cover shell. is this right? If so, I think the wires died while heroically saving the motors.

But then again, it is probably needs a road trip to be sure ...
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com

User avatar
BrianM
Vectric Staff
Posts: 1960
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 10:15 am
Model of CNC Machine: A few ...
Location: Redditch U.K
Contact:

Re: Blown powersupply

Post by BrianM »

Split from topic on fluting gadget(!) and moved here.

Brian
Brian Moran
Chairman
Vectric Ltd.

PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Blown powersupply

Post by PaulRowntree »

Sounds like we need a travel section to the forum :wink:
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com

User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

Re: Blown powersupply

Post by Ms Wolffie »

You can probably get cheaper flight if you put a red cross on your luggage?
You need tickets to Cairns, Queensland :D
I'll be waiting at the airport.
Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

Re: Blown powersupply

Post by Ms Wolffie »

When I think of a blown motor, it could either make a coil go open circuit or short-circuit. Open should be apparent with an ohm-meter. If shorted out inside to another coil that should be seen with the ohm-meter too.

Shorted out inside to itself should be seen as too low a resistance. Also, the mechanical resistance to manually turning the shaft should go up a lot when you short out a coil at the connector, almost like a brake. If there is no difference felt, and it is always very stiff, it could be shorted out inside.

This is all double Dutch to me.

If the photos show the connectors going to the motors, then it looks like they may have shorted out where they go out of the cover shell. is this right? If so, I think the wires died while heroically saving the motors.
Yes, they burned out about 1/2" up the moulded cable. I suppose they deserve a medal for heroism :D
Plug.png
Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

PaulRowntree
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 1687
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:28 pm
Model of CNC Machine: homebuilt 4'x2' (Mach3+G540)
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Blown powersupply

Post by PaulRowntree »

Ms Wolffie wrote:
Shorted out inside to itself should be seen as too low a resistance. Also, the mechanical resistance to manually turning the shaft should go up a lot when you short out a coil at the connector, almost like a brake. If there is no difference felt, and it is always very stiff, it could be shorted out inside.[/i]
This is all double Dutch to me.

Cheers
Wolffie
You can turn the shaft of a stepper fairly easily by hand, but only when the wires to the coil are not shorted out. Connect the two ends of the coil together, and the resistance to turning goes WAY up. It is like a built-in brake. If you don't see any difference in the turning resistance, and it is always very stiff, then maybe there is an internal short.
As to the cable, I thought that the melt was where the wires left a metal shell, and maybe they wore through. I can't imagine this on a molded connector/cable system though. Probably one wire was defective with a high point resistance, got hot, increased resistance even more, etc .. caused the meltdown.
Paul Rowntree
WarpDriver, StandingWave, Topo and gadgets available at PaulRowntree.weebly.com

User avatar
Ms Wolffie
Vectric Wizard
Posts: 2689
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:41 pm
Model of CNC Machine: Blue Elephant 1325, Shark HD Pro
Location: Tully Heads, Wet Tropics, Queensland, Australia

Re: Blown powersupply

Post by Ms Wolffie »

Your guess is a pretty good one, Paul.
When I whittled the moulded part away from the connector, I found one point with plenty of solder and no wire. The wire was sort of floating around in the plastic and had ever seen a spot of solder.
Of course, I would ever have seen that if it wasn't necessary to cut the moulded plastic away to find out which colour wire went where.
I have written the manufacturer of my CNC with my findings but have not, to date, had a reply.
I guess thin computer wires are OK for 110 volts but not for 240 volts.
Cheers
Wolffie
Cheers
Wolffie

Whatshammacallit
Cut3D, VCarvePro 6.5, Aspire4, PhotoVCarve, Corel Graphics Suite X6

Post Reply