Inlay Help

This forum is for users to post tips and tricks they have found useful while working with VCarve Pro
Bigjay
Model of CNC Machine: Mill Right Mega V

Inlay Help

Post by Bigjay »

I am just starting out with CNC work and have attempted some inlays but with no success. I have included pictures of what is happening and hopefully this is a simple fix. I have my pocket flat depth set at .3" and the inlay start depth of .2" and flat depth of .1" as this is what I have found to work well in a lot of tutorials. I am using a 90 degree V-bit with 3/8" diameter and 7/16" cutting height as well as a 1/4" end for my clearance tool. What is happening is that the plug or inlay piece has straight sides for approximately .1" before it gets to the v groove which does not allow for proper fit up.
Inlay.jpg
Pocket.jpg

Adrian
Vectric Archimage
Model of CNC Machine: ShopBot PRS Alpha 96x48

Re: Inlay Help

Post by Adrian »

I don't do those types of inlays personally but I doubt they will work with a clearance tool due to the way they use a start depth. When the original method was published the v-carve toolpath didn't support clearance tools.

adze_cnc
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: AXYZ 4008

Post by adze_cnc »

When you preview the toolpaths for the plug in VCarve do you see the same "straight sides for approximately .1 inch before it gets to the v groove"?

i.e. if the preview looks correct and the cut doesn't then it's not the toolpaths but how the Z height is set between tool changes.

Bigjay
Model of CNC Machine: Mill Right Mega V

Post by Bigjay »

The straight edge is there on the preview. I think I may have been just going too deep for that bit as i have since changed the pocket flat depth to .2" and the inlay start depth at .15 and the flat depth to .05 and it seems to work fine.

FixitMike
Vectric Wizard
Model of CNC Machine: Shark Pro Plus (retired)

Post by FixitMike »